Catalog

Search our Catalog

madame librarian's Blog

Books by Mail

Are you a Canton resident who is unable to come to the library due to a permanent or long-term illness or disability? Are you an older adult (65+) without a way to get to the library? The Canton Public Library offers Books by Mail service to Canton residents. Every month a librarian will select 4 books based upon your reading preferences, to be delivered to your home postage free. Read the books, then return them to the Canton Public Library in the postage-paid mailer provided. To enroll you will need a Canton Public Library card and complete the Books by Mail application available at the Adult Reference Desk, by mail, or online.

Kerrytown BookFest 2009

The 7th Annual Kerrytown BookFest is coming to the Ann Arbor Farmer's Market on Sunday, September 13 from 11:00AM-5:00PM. Jane & Michael Stern, authors of Roadfood will speak at Noon and at 2:00PM Aunt Agatha's presents Mysteries to Cook By with JoAnna Carl, Julie Hyzy, and Miranda Bliss a.k.a. Casey Daniels. Featured guest, Jeffery Deaver will speak at 4:00PM.

An Invitation to Canton Seniors

The Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Wednesday, September 23, from 2:00-3:00PM at the Canton Seniors Center in The Summit. This month we're reading the 2009 Pulitzer Prize winner, March by Geraldine Brooks. It is the story of Rev. March, father of Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy of Louisa May Alcott's Little Women, and March's year as a chaplain in the Union Army. Pick up a copy at the Canton Public Library Adult Reference Desk. To register, contact the Canton Seniors Center.

No Pot of Gold at the end of the Reading Rainbow

Sadly, PBS's Reading Rainbow aired its final episode on Friday, August 28 after 26 outstanding years. Why? According to John Grant, the head of content at WNED Buffalo, Reading Rainbow's home station, PBS, the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, and the Department of Education are all unwilling to pour funding into programs that don't teach children how to read. Reading Rainbow's focus has always been on the why of reading and using an interest in books to encourage children to become more interested in learning to read better. Unfortunately, there just doesn't seem to be enough money, or interest, to fund both types of programs, and Reading Rainbow has gotten the ax. Gee, I thought it was my responsibility as a parent and schools as institutions of learning to teach reading basics and television's responsibility to broaden our knowledge? 

Outside Our Borders

If you are interested in reading about new cultures or how we adapt or don't adapt may we suggest...


More Online Resources for Michigan Seniors

The Michigan Attorney General's office has established an online resource center for Michigan's seniors at Senior Brigade. This website is a clearinghouse for helpful information on consumer protection, financial matters, health care issues and veterans' services. It provides links to a wide variety of state and federal programs to help make informed decisions that can benefit you and your family. A calendar of senior events around the state is also available. The website is maintained by Attorney General Mike Cox's office.

Sisters in Crime Announce Davitt Awards

This year 39 crime books competed for the Davitt Awards which were set up by Sisters in Crime in 2001 to celebrate the achievements of Australian women crime writers. Justice Betty King presented the awards to a crowd of 140 at the Celtic Club. For the third year running, the awards were sponsored by the Victoria Police Museum.

Beautiful Place To Die (PanMacmillan), the debut novel by Sydney-based filmmaker turned crime writer, Malla Nunn, tonight won Sisters in Crime’s Davitt Awards for the best (adult) crime novel by an Australian woman in 2008.

Blue Mountains writer Catherine Jinks took out the Davitt (young adult) for Genius Squad (Allen & Unwin)

Retire Online

The Social Security office recently launched a national campaign "Retire Online. It's So Easy!" This campaign features a new online retirement application that can be completed in as little as 15 minutes. The application is available online and can easily be completed at any of our library computers.

Shamus Award Nominees Announced

The Private Eye Writers of America announced the nominees for the 28th. Annual Shamus Awards on Friday. Eleven of the fifteen novels nominated are available at our library. Which book(s) do you choose for the three categories: Best Hardcover, Best First PI Novel, and Best Paperbook?

To Be Read

I recently 'stumbled' upon Goodreads and added it to my list of websites for TBR [To Be Read] suggestions. Of course, that's the whole idea of this blog, so when a request for historical mysteries writers came up, these authors immediately came to mind: Alys Clare, Peter Tremayne, Margaret Frazer, Ariana Franklin, and Alan Gordon.

Fifth Annual Western Wayne County Senior Olympics

Men and women, 50 years and older, will compete in the Western Wayne Senior Olympics August 17 through August 21, 2009. A complete schedule of events is available at Canton Seniors Leisure Services.

Kay Scarpetta On Film

Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta mystery series is coming to the big screen. None other than Angelina Jolie will play Ms. Scarpetta. Producers Mark Gordon and Geyer Kosinski are hoping for a franchise out of Ms. Cornwell's books, though none of the films will necessarily follow the plotline of any particular tome. According to Variety,

This film won't be tied to a specific Cornwell mystery title. Much the way that Jason Bourne morphed into an action hero in plots not rigidly locked into the Robert Ludlum book series, the opera-loving coroner Scarpetta will be the lead in a suspense thriller in the vein of "The Silence of the Lambs" and "Seven."

Third Strike

William G. Tapply, author of the Boston lawyer-turned crime-solver Brady Coyne mystery series, died of leukemia Tuesday, July 28 at his Hancock, NH home. He was 69. He was known also for his collected essays, a book about his father, and his articles and columns in "Field & Stream" and other magazines. Mr. Tapply had also introduced a new series featuring Stoney Calhoun in 2004. The third book in this series will be published posthumously, this fall.

In the Shadow of Gotham

In the Shadow of Gotham, Stefanie Pintoff's debut, won the first Minotaur Books/MWA Best First Crime Novel award. It's the Twentieth Century and crime detection has begun to take advantage of the new sciences available: fingerprints, profiling. Detective Simon Ziele has moved to Dobson, a small town in New York's Westchester county, a train-ride from New York City, following the tragic death of his fiance in the wreck of the steamship General Slocum in 1904. Ziele had been one of the NYC detectives called to scene to rescue survivors, but he was unable to save Rachel, his fiance.