Catalog

Search our Catalog

madame librarian's Blog

2009 Nero Award Announced

New York lawyer-turned-novelist Joseph Teller has won the 2009 Nero Award for his novel The Tenth Case (Mira). That announcement came during the annual Black Orchid Weekend, hosted in New York City by the Nero Wolfe fan organization, The Wolfe Pack. The other two crime novels in contention were The Dark Tide, by Andrew Gross (HarperCollins), and The Fault Tree, by Louise Ure (Minotaur Books).

Suspense, Mystery, Murder

Fans of Denise Mina or Minette Walters should try:

Year 2009 Top Fiction Picks

Benny and Shrimp by Kate Mazetti. Can two lonely middle-aged misfits, a widowed librarian and a bachelor milk farmer, find love in such a complicated relationship? Find out in this refreshingly fun and quirky Swedish bestseller.

Blindman's Bluff by Faye Kellerman

The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barberry

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson

Going Away Shoes: Stories by Jill McCorkle

Half-Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel by Jeanette Walls

Homeland by Barbara Hambly

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - June 23, 2010

The Pearl Diver by Jeff Talarigo is the Canton Seniors Book Group final selection for this year. Copies of the book will be distributed at the May 26, 2010 meeting. After May 26  copies ask for a copy at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - March 24, 2010

Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver is the selected book in March. Copies of the book will be distributed at the February 24, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after February. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

Falls and Older Adults

If you or an older person you know has fallen, you're not alone. More than one in three people ages 65 years or older falls each year. The risk of falling — and fall-related injuries — rises with age. But falls can be prevented, and three videos describing how older adults can reduce their risk have just been added to the Falls and Older Adults topic on NIHSeniorHealth.

(Image Credit: Leonard Freed. WEST GERMANY. 1965. (NYC30404). Magnum Photos. 01 Jan 1965. eLibrary. Web. 25 Jan 2010.)

Authors Meet Technology

Technology can be a writer's best friend. More and more authors are establishing their presence beyond their websites on Twitter, Facebook, etc. In a recent article by Rege Behe of the TRIBUNE-REVIEW interviewed Ann Rice, Gregg Hurwitz, Alafair Burke and others about their decision to blog.

Murder Will Out

His victims are young, beautiful and viciously mutilated. He calls himself the Beijing Ripper. Award-winning, Peter May's terrifying new addition to his China Thrillers series, Chinese Whispers pits Beijing detective Li Yan and American pathologist Margaret Campbell against an unscrupulous foe who could prove to be their deadliest enemy yet.

Medicare Help is Here

Caring for an older family member or friend? Getting on in years yourself? NIHSeniorHealth.gov, the health and wellness website for older adults, has recently added seven short videos about Medicare coverage to its Medicare Basics for Caregivers.

K. J. A. Wishnia Is Back

Prague, 1592. A young girl has been brutally murdered and Christians and Jews will be pitted against each other in Edgar nominee, K. J. A. Wishnia's (aka Kenneth Wishnia) soon-to-be released, mystery The Fifth Servant.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - April 28, 2010

April's reading selection is Forgetfulness by Ward Just. Copies of the book will be distributed at the March 24, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after March 24. Participants must register with the Canton Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - May 26, 2010

Peace Like a River by Leif Enger is the Canton Seniors Book Group May selection. Copies of the book will be distributed at the May 26, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after May 26. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - February 24, 2010

This month, the Canton Seniors Book Group will discuss the Everyone's Reading 2010 selection, Presumed Innocent by Scott Turow.  Copies of the book will be distributed at the January 27, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after January 27th.  Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling 734-394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734-397-0999).

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - January 27, 2010

The Canton Seniors Book Group will be discussing the 1994 ALA Black Caucus Award winning book A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest Gaines.  Copies of the book will be distributed at the November 18, 2009 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after November 18th.  Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling 734-394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734-397-0999).