Catalog

Search our Catalog

madame librarian's Blog

Mystery Writers of America Announces 2010 Nominees

Mystery Writers of America announced the Nominees for the 2010 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction, and television published or produced in 2009. Best Novel Nominees are:

Creator of 'Spenser' Robert B. Parker Died

Bestselling American crime novelist, Robert B. Parker, creator of the wisecracking Boston private eye Spenser, died on Monday, January 18 at the age of 77. Robert B Parker, the American crime novelist, who has died aged 77, helped revive and modernize the hard-boiled private eye genre through his Spenser series of novels. In 2002, he was named Grand Master at the Edgar awards by the Mystery Writers of America. More than four million copies of his books have been sold around the world.

Val McDermid wins CWA Diamond Award

Britain’s Crime Writers’ Association has announced that Scottish novelist Val McDermid is “the recipient of this year’s prestigious CWA Cartier Diamond Dagger Award, which honours outstanding achievement in the field of crime writing." Ms. McDermid began writing in 1987 when Report for Murder was released and over the years has won numerous writing awards for her mystery stories.

Tax Help for Seniors

Need help with filing taxes? The Canton Senior Center, in cooperation with AARP-Michigan has begun scheduling appointments with seniors needing assistance with their taxes. To book an appointment, call the Senior Desk at The Summit at (734) 394-5485 now.

Baby Boomers & Technology

Baby Boomers respond differently to new technology according to a recent report from Microsoft/AARP. They believe technology can be used to improve health care and fitness, going to demand simpler devices that are safer and easier to use, and they will be a big factor in the adoption of e-readers, recognizing that electronic devices let you carry a lot more reading material and view it in a way that is comfortable.

Author Steve Hamilton to Speak on January 14

Steve Hamilton, author of the Alex McKnight mysteries and graduate of Lakeland High School (MI) will discuss his latest book, The Lock Artist on Thursday, January 14 at 6:30PM at White Lake Township Library. For more information contact Denise E. Harris, Adult Services Librarian at (248) 698-4942.

Murder Will Out: Ring Out the Dead

Here are a few mysteries set at the new year:

The queene's Christmas by Karen Harper

Full cry by Rita Mae Brown

New Year's Eve murder : a Lucy Stone mystery by Leslie Meier

Cat on a hyacinth hunt by Carole Nelson Douglas

Best Mysteries of 2009

Janet Rudolph of Mystery Fanfare announced her picks for Best Mysteries of 2009. Her number one choice: Dog On It by Stephen Quinn.

Dorothy Gilman Grand Master at MWA 2010 Conference

On Thursday, December 10, the Mystery Writers of America announced that Dorothy Gilman, the 86-year-old American author of the long-running Emily Pollifax (aka Mrs. Pollifax) spy novel series, has been chosen as the group’s 2010 Grand Master. She follows in the footsteps of last year’s prize recipients, James Lee Burke and Sue Grafton.

Baby Boomers and Technology

A recent study jointly published by Microsoft and AARP, Baby Boomers Are Shaping the Future of Technology, AARP and Microsoft Research Shows discusses the expectations of Baby Boomers and the use of technology.  Research shows Baby Boomers enjoy new technology and are eager to use text-messaging, social-networking, etc.  "Baby boomers want technology that reflects their values and helps them express those values with greater purpose, meaning and impact", Adam Sohn, Director of Integrated Communications for AARP said. “While boomers are heavy users of technology today — for everything from entertainment and news to online banking and social networking — what’s most exciting is the technology-assisted world they are helping to create.”

2009 Nero Award Announced

New York lawyer-turned-novelist Joseph Teller has won the 2009 Nero Award for his novel The Tenth Case (Mira). That announcement came during the annual Black Orchid Weekend, hosted in New York City by the Nero Wolfe fan organization, The Wolfe Pack. The other two crime novels in contention were The Dark Tide, by Andrew Gross (HarperCollins), and The Fault Tree, by Louise Ure (Minotaur Books).

Suspense, Mystery, Murder

Fans of Denise Mina or Minette Walters should try:

Year 2009 Top Fiction Picks

Benny and Shrimp by Kate Mazetti. Can two lonely middle-aged misfits, a widowed librarian and a bachelor milk farmer, find love in such a complicated relationship? Find out in this refreshingly fun and quirky Swedish bestseller.

Blindman's Bluff by Faye Kellerman

The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barberry

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson

Going Away Shoes: Stories by Jill McCorkle

Half-Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel by Jeanette Walls

Homeland by Barbara Hambly