Catalog

Search our Catalog

madame librarian's Blog

Book Club Choices: November 2011

Has your book group considered reading a book and watching the movie?

The good earth [videodisc] by A Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Picture

The good earth [kit] by Pearl S. Buck; introduced and edited by Peter Conn

To kill a mockingbird [kit] by Harper Lee

Giving Thanks 2011

This year when you gather together with family and friends and scrambling for something to say after the blessing try AARP's 50 Thanksgiving Story Starters. 50 ideas and 10 Topics ranging from My Baby Book, Teen Talk, and Bragging a Little.

Best of 2011

Lists, lists, and more lists. As 2011 draws to an end everyone seems to be creating "Best of" lists. For readers of all ages and tastes, holiday gift suggestions:

National Book Awards 2011

The National Book Awards 2011 will be webcast live from New York City on Wednesday, November 16 at 8:00 PM. Actor, author, and musician John Lithgow will host this year's award ceremony. No registration necessary. Check the National Book Foundation's website for more information.

An Evening of Detroit Vintage Jazz

Polish Mission hosts Detroit Vintage Jazz Concert Autumn Rhapsody on Friday November 18 from 5:30 to 10:00 PM at the Orchard Lake Schools Art Gallery. Singer Kira Frabotta and pianist Mike Jellick will perform a unique repertoire of jazz from the early 20th century setting the tone as Orchard Lake’s Art Gallery transforms into a 1930s jazz club for the evening. Food provided by Cadiuex Café and wine selections from Leelanau Cellars. Individual tickets are $50; a pair is $80. Suggested additional donation of $50. Tickets can be purchased by calling 248-682-1885 or online.

Great Michigan Read 2011-2012

Michigan Humanities Council, in conjunction with Michigan Roundtable for Diversity & Inclusion, has selected nine host sites for the Great Michigan Read traveling exhibit: We Don’t Want Them. The exhibit places the events documented in Kevin Boyle's Arc of Justice in a broader context of policies and practices that limited where some could live, thus impacting their past and present quality of life. We Don't Want Them opened in Flint and will travel around the state to the following cities:

Vote for New Seven Wonders of the World

Final day to vote for the New Seven Wonders of the World is Friday, November 11. The choice has been narrowed to 28 places around the world. Three of the nominations are in North America. The Grand Canyon-USA, The Bay of Fundy-Canada, and El Yunque-Puerto Rico. Vote now!

Books & Authors

Have you tried Canton Public Library's online resources to find information about books, authors, reviews and read-alikes 24/7? Our database Books & Authors is a reader’s advisory tool available to Canton Public Library users via the library's databases. Canton library cardholders can create a free account in Books & Authors to create and save reading lists, access reviews or write a review for books in the database and much more. You can browse by titles, authors and genres; plus the Who? What? When? and Where? search allows users to get really specific in terms of finding just the right read.

Murder Will Out: More Read-Alikes for Janet Evanovich

With the much anticipated movie release of Janet Evanovich's One For the Money in January, 2012 fans of Stephanie Plum may enjoy listening to these authors.

Agatha Raisin and the quiche of death [sound recording] by M.C. Beaton

Merry Wives of Maggody [sound recording] by Joan Hess

Murder on a girls' night out [sound recording] by Anne George

Murder Will Out: If you read Joanna Fluke

If you're a foodie who enjoys listening to audiobooks and a fan of Joanna Fluke's Hannah Swenson's mysteries you might enjoy:

Death in paradise [sound recording] by Carolyn Hart

The merlot murders [sound recording]: a wine country mystery by Ellen Crosby

A dilly of a death [sound recording] by Susan Wittig Albert

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: November 16, 2011

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet one week earlier this month on Wednesday, November 16 from 2:00-3:00 PM in Group Study Room A. This month's reading selection is:

The Help by Kathryn Stockett — In pitch perfect voices, Katheryn Stockett creates three extraordinary women whose determination to start a movement of their own forever changes a town, and the way women — mothers, daughters, caregivers, and friends — view each other.

10 Tips to Help Seniors Enjoy the Holidays

For many older adults the holidays can be highly stressful, confusing, or even depressing if their mental, physical and emotional needs are not taken into account. Senior Living offers 10 Tips to Help Seniors Enjoy the Holidays and make the holidays more joyful for the whole family.

Ways to Use Leftover Halloween Candy

Janet Randolph's Dying for Chocolate blog recently included a list of Ways to Use Leftover Halloween Candy with recipes but you could also donate candy to nursing homes, Ronald McDonald houses, woman and family shelters and Operation Gratitude which sends care packages to U.S. troops around the world but check first before dropping off and/or mailing candies.

Tech Town Open House

Entrepreneurs. Small Business Owners. Got an idea? Curious about how TechTown can help you? Drop in to Wayne State University's Tech Town's inaugural Open House on Tuesday, November 8 from 5:00 to 7:00 PM and have a look around their thriving entrepreneurial community! Register online. The open house features:
  • Tours of the facilities
  • A Chat with the entrepreneur of the month
  • Discussions with staff about how we support entrepreneurs