Catalog

Search our Catalog

madame librarian's Blog

Murder Will Out: September 2014

As a mystery reader, have you noticed how often food is described in the story?  Someone is always sitting down to a meal or being called from a meal.  The following feature caterers, bakers, and recipes.

Savvy Seniors: September 2014

Did you know that knee replacement is the most common joint surgery, and that it’s becoming more widespread among boomers and adults over 75? A new topic from NIHSeniorHealth.gov, Knee Replacement, offers videos, quizzes, FAQs and more for older adults who may be considering knee replacement or who just want to know more.  Or check out these alternatives.

Gentle yoga arthritis by featuring contributions by Laurie Sanford and Nancy Forstbauer

Arthritis RX [videodisc]: exercises to keep you active and pain-free by director, Ernie Schultz

The complete guide to healing arthritis by Deborah Mitchell

Yoga for the rest of us [videodisc]: easy yoga for arthritis by Cappy, Peggy

What We're Reading: September, 2014

This month is a mix of history, mystery, a book about books and reading, growing old, and second chances.

Can't we talk about something more pleasant? by Roz Chast

The Mountaintop School for Dogs and other second chances by Ellen Cooney

The 40s: the story of a decade by The New Yorker ; edited by Henry Finder with Giles Harvey ; introduction by David Remnick

The shelf: from LEQ to LES by Phyllis Rose

Buried in a bog by Sheila Connolly

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: September 25, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Thursday, September 25 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing Mark Zusak THE BOOK THIEF.  Copies of the book can be requested at the Information Services Desk.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  1939. Nazi Germany. Death has never been busier and is going to become even more so.  Orphaned Liesel Meminger is living outside of Munich, scratching out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can't resist-books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, Liesel learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Murder Will Out: Bill Morris at Nicola's Books

Author Talk:  Thursday, August 14 at 7:00PM

Detroit native Bill Morris will be at Nicola's Books in Ann Arbor for a reading and signing of his new novel, 'Motor City Burning'. Detroit comes alive in a powerful and thrilling novel set amidst the chaos of the race riots and the serenity of Tiger Baseball on Opening Day 1968.

Savvy Seniors

Wayne County Regional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped's Brown Bag Book Club will meet Tuesday, August 12, Noon to 2 PM.

This month they are discussing The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty and Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman.

 Coffee will be served. Please bring your own lunch. Meetings are typically held on the second Tuesday of each month at the Library for the Blind, 30555 Michigan Avenue in Westland.

Murder Will Out: August, 2014

A beleaguered NYPD detective, a housekeeper, a reformed hacker, a widowed FBI agent, a psychic tarot card reader, a forensic scientists, and a demoted Detective Inspector. What do they have in common?  Each is the lead character in one of these debut mysteries.

Never alone by C.J. Carpenter



Death comes to the village by Catherine Lloyd


The quantum breach by Denver Acey

Ice shear by M.P. Cooley

The White Magic Five and Dime by New York times bestselling author Steve Hockensmith with Lisa Falco

Everyone lies by A.D. Garrett

Savvy Seniors: August, 2014

10 Movie Favorites of baby boomers according to a recent blog posted on Next Avenue's Route 360 by Linda Bernstein. Best part of the survey?  The memorable lines included. 


The sound of music [videodisc] by Twentieth Century Fox

The graduate [videodisc] by an Embassy Pictures release

Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid [videodisc] by Twentieth Century Fox


Love story [videodisc]
by Paramount Pictures

The Godfather [videodisc] by [by] Mario Puzo ; Paramount Pictures presents an Albert S. Ruddy production

The paper chase [videodisc] by a Thompson-Paul production

Murder Will Out: 2014 Nero Wolf Award Finalists Announced

The 2014 Nero Wolf Award Finalists were announced this past week.  The winners will be announced in December at the annual Black Orchid Banquet.

Ask Not by Max Allan Collins

Murder as a Fine Art by Charles Morrell

Three can keep a secret: a Joe Gunther novel by Archer Mayor

Murder as a fine art by David Morrell

A question of honor by Charles Todd

Look What's In Large Print: July 2014

The focus is on Mystery. The Agatha Christie Estate has authorized release of the complete Agatha Christie crime novels in Large Print. If you haven't read the Queen of Mystery start with her first book, THE MYSTERIOUS AFFAIR AT STYLES which introduces Hercules Poirot. THE PAWNBROKER is the first Charlie Henry book in Aimee and David Thurlo's new series.

The mysterious affair at Styles [large print]: Poirot's first case by Agatha Christie

No man's nightingale [large print] by Ruth Rendell

Pursuit [large print] by Gene Hackman

The pawnbroker [large print] by David and Aimee Thurlo

That old black magic [large print] by Mary Jane Clark