Catalog

Search our Catalog

Seniors

Outside Our Borders

If you are interested in reading about new cultures or how we adapt or don't adapt may we suggest...


Help Us Win Statewide Recognition for Excellence

Library of Michigan Foundation logoIf you're happy and you know it...write a letter. Seriously.

The library is applying for the Library of Michigan Foundation's State Librarian's Excellence Award, which is given annually to a library that exemplifies excellence in customer service. The recipient will receive a trophy and prize sponsored by the Roger & June Mendel Fund.

We need your help to win this prestigious honor. If we've done something you think merits praise - a program, a collection, our general staff demeanor and library culture - please address a letter to the State Librarian's Excellence Award Committee, telling them why you think the Canton Public Library gives great service, and send it to Kathie Gladden c/o Canton Public Library - 1200 S. Canton Center Road - Canton, MI 48188.

The deadline for us to receive recommendation letters is Tuesday, September 8.

More Online Resources for Michigan Seniors

The Michigan Attorney General's office has established an online resource center for Michigan's seniors at Senior Brigade. This website is a clearinghouse for helpful information on consumer protection, financial matters, health care issues and veterans' services. It provides links to a wide variety of state and federal programs to help make informed decisions that can benefit you and your family. A calendar of senior events around the state is also available. The website is maintained by Attorney General Mike Cox's office.

Fun Festivals & Fairs

As summer begins to wind down and fall begins to rev up, keep the fun going! Visit one of Michigan's great fall Festivals & Fairs.
The Michigan State Fair is going on now through Labor Day. See www.absolutemichigan.com for a schedule of events.
Check out www.Michigan.org for the many festivals and fairs available in just about every city.
Visit our large selections of materials on festivals and fairs. Some to check-out are:

Special Board Meeting to Study 2010 Budget

A special meeting of the Canton Public Library Board of Trustees has been scheduled for Thursday, September 3 at 7:30 p.m., at which time the board will study the proposed 2010 budget. Members of the public are encouraged to attend.

Sisters in Crime Announce Davitt Awards

This year 39 crime books competed for the Davitt Awards which were set up by Sisters in Crime in 2001 to celebrate the achievements of Australian women crime writers. Justice Betty King presented the awards to a crowd of 140 at the Celtic Club. For the third year running, the awards were sponsored by the Victoria Police Museum.

Beautiful Place To Die (PanMacmillan), the debut novel by Sydney-based filmmaker turned crime writer, Malla Nunn, tonight won Sisters in Crime’s Davitt Awards for the best (adult) crime novel by an Australian woman in 2008.

Blue Mountains writer Catherine Jinks took out the Davitt (young adult) for Genius Squad (Allen & Unwin)

Retire Online

The Social Security office recently launched a national campaign "Retire Online. It's So Easy!" This campaign features a new online retirement application that can be completed in as little as 15 minutes. The application is available online and can easily be completed at any of our library computers.

Shamus Award Nominees Announced

The Private Eye Writers of America announced the nominees for the 28th. Annual Shamus Awards on Friday. Eleven of the fifteen novels nominated are available at our library. Which book(s) do you choose for the three categories: Best Hardcover, Best First PI Novel, and Best Paperbook?

To Be Read

I recently 'stumbled' upon Goodreads and added it to my list of websites for TBR [To Be Read] suggestions. Of course, that's the whole idea of this blog, so when a request for historical mysteries writers came up, these authors immediately came to mind: Alys Clare, Peter Tremayne, Margaret Frazer, Ariana Franklin, and Alan Gordon.

Michigan Renaissance Festival Opens Saturday

Travel back to the 16th century when the 31st annual Michigan Renaissance Festival opens Saturday, August 22 for a 7-week run. Hilarity and merriment will ensue, with live entertainment from Ded Bob, Ric Roc, Owain Phyfe and other faire favorites, plus jousting, wine-tasting and special events each weekend. The festival runs every Saturday-Sunday through October 4.

Reading together

Everyone knows that reading aloud is good for children, but did you know that it also has significant benefits for grown-ups and families as well? The connection that is created when people read together can't be overstated. Take some time to read with your family today.

Green Flowers

Green FlowersGreen Flowers: Unexpected Beauty for the Garden, Container or Vase by Alison Hoblyn, photographs by Marie O'Hara

This book is a terrific inspiration for a tone-on-tone garden bed. Some of my favorites include Hacquetia epipactis, Euphorbia lathyris (mole plant), and Bupleurum rotundifolium (hare's ear).

Thorndyke Thoughts

Hey Kids! Wowzers! I am SO proud of you! Did you know that an incredible 4,798 kids and teens signed up for Summer Reading 2009?!?! And that 2,384 kids and teens finished summer reading and got books from the Scholastic Book Fair sponsored by the Friends of the Library? Thanks Friends! The Adult Librarians told me that over 1000 grown-ups signed up for summer reading and lots of them earned books too. I think you all deserve a pat on the back. Go you!

Fifth Annual Western Wayne County Senior Olympics

Men and women, 50 years and older, will compete in the Western Wayne Senior Olympics August 17 through August 21, 2009. A complete schedule of events is available at Canton Seniors Leisure Services.

Kay Scarpetta On Film

Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta mystery series is coming to the big screen. None other than Angelina Jolie will play Ms. Scarpetta. Producers Mark Gordon and Geyer Kosinski are hoping for a franchise out of Ms. Cornwell's books, though none of the films will necessarily follow the plotline of any particular tome. According to Variety,

This film won't be tied to a specific Cornwell mystery title. Much the way that Jason Bourne morphed into an action hero in plots not rigidly locked into the Robert Ludlum book series, the opera-loving coroner Scarpetta will be the lead in a suspense thriller in the vein of "The Silence of the Lambs" and "Seven."

Battle of the Badges!

It's the Firemen vs. the Police at the annual Battle of the Badges blood drive on Tuesday, August 18 from 11:00-5:00 at the Canton Township Administration Building. Donors select either service when they sign in, and the American Red Cross will donate $1 per donor to the U of M Burn Center. For an appointment, phone 734-394-5246, or drop in between 11:00AM and 4:45PM.

Get the Facts about Health Care Reform

Confused about the debate over health care reform? President Obama has unveiled a new "Reality Check" site to help you get the facts on this very important issue. The site has fact sheets, videos, and links to related sites such as Health Reform.gov. It also allows users to receive updates via Twitter and Facebook.

Organic Kitchen Garden

Organic Kitchen GardenOrganic Kitchen Garden by Juliet Roberts, photographs by Gavin Kingcome

This guide to growing your own food covers the basics for most edibles you can grow here in Canton. In addition to how to plant, grow, and harvest, recommended varieties are listed. Beautifully photographed, this is a handy guide all gardeners of edibles will want to check out.

Secondhand Prose to Sell Collectible Books In-house

Something old, something new... Beginning Tuesday, September 1st, Secondhand Prose Used Book Shop will sell all specialty and collectible books in-house, rather than on the Internet. All selections will be re-priced, so come in and grab some great bargains before they're gone!
(Tuesdays are Members Only Days at Secondhand Prose; you can purchase membership in advance or on the sale day.)