Catalog

Search our Catalog

Seniors

Shamus Award Nominees Announced

The Private Eye Writers of America announced the nominees for the 28th. Annual Shamus Awards on Friday. Eleven of the fifteen novels nominated are available at our library. Which book(s) do you choose for the three categories: Best Hardcover, Best First PI Novel, and Best Paperbook?

To Be Read

I recently 'stumbled' upon Goodreads and added it to my list of websites for TBR [To Be Read] suggestions. Of course, that's the whole idea of this blog, so when a request for historical mysteries writers came up, these authors immediately came to mind: Alys Clare, Peter Tremayne, Margaret Frazer, Ariana Franklin, and Alan Gordon.

Michigan Renaissance Festival Opens Saturday

Travel back to the 16th century when the 31st annual Michigan Renaissance Festival opens Saturday, August 22 for a 7-week run. Hilarity and merriment will ensue, with live entertainment from Ded Bob, Ric Roc, Owain Phyfe and other faire favorites, plus jousting, wine-tasting and special events each weekend. The festival runs every Saturday-Sunday through October 4.

Reading together

Everyone knows that reading aloud is good for children, but did you know that it also has significant benefits for grown-ups and families as well? The connection that is created when people read together can't be overstated. Take some time to read with your family today.

Green Flowers

Green FlowersGreen Flowers: Unexpected Beauty for the Garden, Container or Vase by Alison Hoblyn, photographs by Marie O'Hara

This book is a terrific inspiration for a tone-on-tone garden bed. Some of my favorites include Hacquetia epipactis, Euphorbia lathyris (mole plant), and Bupleurum rotundifolium (hare's ear).

Thorndyke Thoughts

Hey Kids! Wowzers! I am SO proud of you! Did you know that an incredible 4,798 kids and teens signed up for Summer Reading 2009?!?! And that 2,384 kids and teens finished summer reading and got books from the Scholastic Book Fair sponsored by the Friends of the Library? Thanks Friends! The Adult Librarians told me that over 1000 grown-ups signed up for summer reading and lots of them earned books too. I think you all deserve a pat on the back. Go you!

Fifth Annual Western Wayne County Senior Olympics

Men and women, 50 years and older, will compete in the Western Wayne Senior Olympics August 17 through August 21, 2009. A complete schedule of events is available at Canton Seniors Leisure Services.

Kay Scarpetta On Film

Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta mystery series is coming to the big screen. None other than Angelina Jolie will play Ms. Scarpetta. Producers Mark Gordon and Geyer Kosinski are hoping for a franchise out of Ms. Cornwell's books, though none of the films will necessarily follow the plotline of any particular tome. According to Variety,

This film won't be tied to a specific Cornwell mystery title. Much the way that Jason Bourne morphed into an action hero in plots not rigidly locked into the Robert Ludlum book series, the opera-loving coroner Scarpetta will be the lead in a suspense thriller in the vein of "The Silence of the Lambs" and "Seven."

Battle of the Badges!

It's the Firemen vs. the Police at the annual Battle of the Badges blood drive on Tuesday, August 18 from 11:00-5:00 at the Canton Township Administration Building. Donors select either service when they sign in, and the American Red Cross will donate $1 per donor to the U of M Burn Center. For an appointment, phone 734-394-5246, or drop in between 11:00AM and 4:45PM.

Get the Facts about Health Care Reform

Confused about the debate over health care reform? President Obama has unveiled a new "Reality Check" site to help you get the facts on this very important issue. The site has fact sheets, videos, and links to related sites such as Health Reform.gov. It also allows users to receive updates via Twitter and Facebook.

Organic Kitchen Garden

Organic Kitchen GardenOrganic Kitchen Garden by Juliet Roberts, photographs by Gavin Kingcome

This guide to growing your own food covers the basics for most edibles you can grow here in Canton. In addition to how to plant, grow, and harvest, recommended varieties are listed. Beautifully photographed, this is a handy guide all gardeners of edibles will want to check out.

Secondhand Prose to Sell Collectible Books In-house

Something old, something new... Beginning Tuesday, September 1st, Secondhand Prose Used Book Shop will sell all specialty and collectible books in-house, rather than on the Internet. All selections will be re-priced, so come in and grab some great bargains before they're gone!
(Tuesdays are Members Only Days at Secondhand Prose; you can purchase membership in advance or on the sale day.)

Sewing Green

Sewing Green: 25 Projects Made With Repurposed & Organic Materials Plus Tips & Resources for Earth-Friendly Stitching by Betz White, photographs by John Gruen

This slim paperback is packed with projects to wear and use, for grown-ups, children, and your home. The instructions for each project include information on how to reuse and upcycle materials you may already have on hand, and the results are simple and elegant.

Third Strike

William G. Tapply, author of the Boston lawyer-turned crime-solver Brady Coyne mystery series, died of leukemia Tuesday, July 28 at his Hancock, NH home. He was 69. He was known also for his collected essays, a book about his father, and his articles and columns in "Field & Stream" and other magazines. Mr. Tapply had also introduced a new series featuring Stoney Calhoun in 2004. The third book in this series will be published posthumously, this fall.

In the Shadow of Gotham

In the Shadow of Gotham, Stefanie Pintoff's debut, won the first Minotaur Books/MWA Best First Crime Novel award. It's the Twentieth Century and crime detection has begun to take advantage of the new sciences available: fingerprints, profiling. Detective Simon Ziele has moved to Dobson, a small town in New York's Westchester county, a train-ride from New York City, following the tragic death of his fiance in the wreck of the steamship General Slocum in 1904. Ziele had been one of the NYC detectives called to scene to rescue survivors, but he was unable to save Rachel, his fiance.

Growing Bolder as You Grow Older

Catch the podcast about 89 year old Rachel Veitch on Growing Bolder and her 1964 Mercury Caliente. She's the original owner, she's put over 550,000 miles on it traveling around the country, and as she points out, her car has lasted longer than her 3 marriages. Rachel puts a lot of TLC into the car: tune-ups on schedule and purchasing parts with life-time warranties. She's replaced 6 car batteries over the past 35 years at no cost. (Image: Google Images)

Lose It? Maybe We Found It

Think that bookmark with little Damien's picture on it was returned in a library book? Left your Spiderman umbrella behind on a rainy day last week? Call or stop in and ask us to check our Lost & Found box for personal items you may have left here at the library. We hold them for approximately nine business days

New! Multi-page Scanning from Copiers

Now you can scan multiple pages to your e-mail from the copiers in the Copy Center, for free! (Color scans from the color copier will be $0.25 per page.) See the Copy Center staff for assistance.

The Automotive Hall of Fame

The Automotive Hall of Fame building, in Dearborn, Michigan, was opened on August 15, 1997. Over 200 individuals have been inducted into the Automotive Hall of Fame, the highest place of honor in the international motor vehicle history.

Henry Ford and Fordlandia

Fordlandia : the rise and fall of Henry Ford's forgotten jungle city by Greg Grandin documents Henry Ford's 1927 purchase of a Connecticut-sized plot of land in Brazil for the purpose of growing rubber. The South American leaf blight and the advent of synthetic rubbers forced the company to abandon Fordlandia in 1945, long after Ford had poured millions of dollars and years of strenuous effort into the project. Grandin argues that this was more than an economic venture. It was a missionary application of Ford-style capitalism--high wages, humane benefits, moral improvement to a backward land.