Seniors

Look What's In Large Print: November 2013

Spies, espionage, suspense, thrillers...

Agent 146 [Large print]: the true story of a Nazi spy in America by Erich Gimpel ; foreword by Charles Whiting

Rules of betrayal [Large print]: a novel by Christopher Reich

The wolf at the door [Large print] by Jack Higgins

Pirate alley [large print]: a novel by Stephen Coonts

Deliver us from evil [Large print] by David Baldacci

Lunch and a Book 2014 Reading List

Lunch and a Book meets the second Thursday of the month from 12:00-1:00PM.  No registration required, participation encouraged.

Quiet: the power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking by Susan Cain — January 9th

Defending Jacob: a novel by William Landay — February 13th

Before you know kindness: a novel by Chris Bohjalian — March 13th

The dog stars by Peter Heller — April 10th

The round house by Louise Erdrich — May 8th

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group January-June 2014

Looking for a lively book discussion? The Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group meets on the fourth Thursday of the month from 2:00-3:00PM in Group Study Room A at Canton Public Library. 

January 23              Annie's Ghosts: A Journey into a Family's Secret by Steve Luxenberg

February 27           The Closers by Michael Connelly

March 27                Detroit: An American Autopsy by Charlie LeDuff

April 24                   The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian

May 22                     Crank by Ellen Hopkins

June 26                    The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Lou Reed, Velvet Underground Leader, Dies at 71

Lou Reed, leader of avante-garde band The Velvet Underground before going solo in the early Seventies, died this week (October 27) at the age of 71. He had no wish for fame, but is probably one of the best known 'unknown' musicians of the past 30 years. A songwriter, guitarist, and vocalist, Reed had a distinctive voice. As a member of The Velvet Underground, he was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1996. (Photo Credit: Stephen Munday. Olympics Day 13 - Lou Reed Performs At The Medal Plaza. Getty Images. 23 Feb. 2006. eLibrary. Web. 31 Oct. 2013.)

Look What's In Large Print: Biographies

Celebrate Diwali

The Hindu Festival of Lights is celebrated on November 3 in 2013. We are celebrating this annual, joyful holiday on Wednesday, November 13 from 6:30 to 8:30 PM at the Canton Public Library. Please join us for food, dancing and song. The Festival of Lights, also known at Deepavali, is held in honor of Rama-Chandra, the seventh incarnation of the god Vishnu and is a triumph of light over dark, good over evil. Come hear, taste, smell and watch this happy celebration with your neighbors as the Indian community is showcased.

Our Own Snug Fireside: Life during the Civil War

Join us on Saturday, November 16 from 2:00-3:00 PM for a peek into the world which no one alive today has witnessed first-hand. As living historians renowned for their knowledge on daily life of the mid-19th century, Larissa Fleishman and Ken Giorlando will draw you into their world of horses & carriages, oil lamps & candles, and hoop skirts & top hats as they bring back the everyday life of long ago.

"Our Own Snug Fireside” is a program for audiences of all ages which offers a first-hand look into the activities, chores, occupations, manners, etiquette, and clothing of a time from over one hundred and fifty years ago. Using replica artifacts, entertaining exchanges, fun filled facts, and a bit of humor our presenters will show what life was like during such an intense time in American History: The Civil War.

Mrs. Fleishman and Mr. Giorlando have been students of history for decades, and not only have intently studied the everyday life of our ancestors, but have also been involved in the practice of historical presenting and living history/reenacting for nearly as long. “Our Own Snug Fireside” is certainly a chance to see history come alive.

Lunch & a Book November 2013

On Thursday November 14 at noon, we will be discussing:

The Paris wife: a novel by Paula McLain — Hadley Richardson is a quiet twenty-eight-year-old who has all but given up on love and happiness-until she meets Ernest Hemingway. Following a whirlwind courtship and wedding, the pair set sail for Paris, where they become the golden couple in the fabled Lost Generation. Though deeply in love, the Hemingways are ill prepared for the hard-drinking and fast-living life of Jazz Age Paris. Surrounded by beautiful women and competing egos, Ernest struggles to find the voice that will earn him a place in history, pouring all the richness and intensity of his life with Hadley and their circle of friends into the novel that will become The Sun Also Rises. Hadley, meanwhile, strives to hold on to her sense of self as the demands of life with Ernest grow costly and her roles as wife, friend, and muse become more challenging.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Seniors