Catalog

Search our Catalog

Seniors

Sew Up a Home Makeover

Sew up a home makeover : 50 simple sewing projects to transform your space by Lexie Barnes — This book not only contains a wide variety of sewing projects, it also includes important information on how to plan for a makeover. It's easy to get inspired but forget to think about the function of the space or to plan a realistic budget, and those items and more are covered here. Home makeover projects often involve not only your sewing kit, but items from your tool bench, and this book makes it easy to plan for those needs. Included are ideas for children's rooms at various ages, a craft room, as well as many a la carte projects.

Sunday Volunteer Needed

Position Summary

Adults or teens are needed to assist in shelving materials and/or wrapping hold items

Primary Duties And Responsibilities

  • Shelve DVDs, CDs and other materials as directed
  • Wrap Hold Shelf items and accurately file them in the Hold Shelf area
  • Assist pages in library “clean up” (picking up materials from tables for reshelving, etc.)

Required Qualifications And Skills

  • Ability to push a fully loaded book cart
  • Ability to organize materials alphabetically and/or numerically according to the Dewey Decimal System
  • Ability to use both hands to shelve materials

Preferred Qualifications

Volunteer should be self-motivated and not in need of unusual assistance from staff members, beyond normal training period

Applying

This volunteer position will commence immediately. The shift is for every Sunday from 1:00-3:00 PM.

Applicants should complete a Volunteer Application and return it to the Reception Desk.

Stuff the Truck Diaper Drive, Wednesday and Thursday!

We are pumped up for this year's diaper drive. Thanks to Canton Patch for helping us get the word out.

Bring diapers of any size or brand to CPL on Wednesday November 16 and Thursday the 17th, from 9:00 AM to 9:00 PM. The diapers will go to Detroit Area Diaper Bank, a nonprofit charitable organization that distributes diapers to Michigan support agencies.

Best of 2011

Lists, lists, and more lists. As 2011 draws to an end everyone seems to be creating "Best of" lists. For readers of all ages and tastes, holiday gift suggestions:

Gabby: A Story of Courage and Hope

It was nearly a year ago when a tragic shooting took place at a political event in Tuscan, Arizona. Six people died and many more were wounded, including first time congresswoman, Gabrielle Giffords. She was horribly wounded with little chance of survival, let alone recovery. This is the extraordinarily moving story of public service, love, strength, hope and the long, hard road toward recovery as told by Gabby Giffords, her space shuttle commander husband, Mark Kelly and author and Wall Street Journal columnist, Jeffrey Zaslow.

Gabby: A Story of Courage and Hope by Gabrielle Giffords, Mark Kelly, and Jeffrey Zaslow

National Book Awards 2011

The National Book Awards 2011 will be webcast live from New York City on Wednesday, November 16 at 8:00 PM. Actor, author, and musician John Lithgow will host this year's award ceremony. No registration necessary. Check the National Book Foundation's website for more information.

An Evening of Detroit Vintage Jazz

Polish Mission hosts Detroit Vintage Jazz Concert Autumn Rhapsody on Friday November 18 from 5:30 to 10:00 PM at the Orchard Lake Schools Art Gallery. Singer Kira Frabotta and pianist Mike Jellick will perform a unique repertoire of jazz from the early 20th century setting the tone as Orchard Lake’s Art Gallery transforms into a 1930s jazz club for the evening. Food provided by Cadiuex Café and wine selections from Leelanau Cellars. Individual tickets are $50; a pair is $80. Suggested additional donation of $50. Tickets can be purchased by calling 248-682-1885 or online.

River Cruising with AAA

River cruising offers unsurpassed styles and elegance of the world's best river cruise ships. Join us on November 17 at 7:00 PM as we armchair travel once again with the professionals from AAA of Canton. We're going on a luxurious river cruise, featuring small elegant ships designed to navigate inland rivers for an exclusive travel experience anywhere in the world. This could be your perfect winter getaway.

Great Michigan Read 2011-2012

Michigan Humanities Council, in conjunction with Michigan Roundtable for Diversity & Inclusion, has selected nine host sites for the Great Michigan Read traveling exhibit: We Don’t Want Them. The exhibit places the events documented in Kevin Boyle's Arc of Justice in a broader context of policies and practices that limited where some could live, thus impacting their past and present quality of life. We Don't Want Them opened in Flint and will travel around the state to the following cities:

Books & Authors

Have you tried Canton Public Library's online resources to find information about books, authors, reviews and read-alikes 24/7? Our database Books & Authors is a reader’s advisory tool available to Canton Public Library users via the library's databases. Canton library cardholders can create a free account in Books & Authors to create and save reading lists, access reviews or write a review for books in the database and much more. You can browse by titles, authors and genres; plus the Who? What? When? and Where? search allows users to get really specific in terms of finding just the right read.

Murder Will Out: More Read-Alikes for Janet Evanovich

With the much anticipated movie release of Janet Evanovich's One For the Money in January, 2012 fans of Stephanie Plum may enjoy listening to these authors.

Agatha Raisin and the quiche of death [sound recording] by M.C. Beaton

Merry Wives of Maggody [sound recording] by Joan Hess

Murder on a girls' night out [sound recording] by Anne George

Murder Will Out: If you read Joanna Fluke

If you're a foodie who enjoys listening to audiobooks and a fan of Joanna Fluke's Hannah Swenson's mysteries you might enjoy:

Death in paradise [sound recording] by Carolyn Hart

The merlot murders [sound recording]: a wine country mystery by Ellen Crosby

A dilly of a death [sound recording] by Susan Wittig Albert

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: November 16, 2011

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet one week earlier this month on Wednesday, November 16 from 2:00-3:00 PM in Group Study Room A. This month's reading selection is:

The Help by Kathryn Stockett — In pitch perfect voices, Katheryn Stockett creates three extraordinary women whose determination to start a movement of their own forever changes a town, and the way women — mothers, daughters, caregivers, and friends — view each other.

10 Tips to Help Seniors Enjoy the Holidays

For many older adults the holidays can be highly stressful, confusing, or even depressing if their mental, physical and emotional needs are not taken into account. Senior Living offers 10 Tips to Help Seniors Enjoy the Holidays and make the holidays more joyful for the whole family.

Third Annual “Stuff the Truck” Diaper Drive at Canton Public Library

CANTON, MI—Imagine swaddling your toddler in a paper towel or plastic bag because you are out of diapers and don’t have the resources to buy more. That’s the challenge facing thousands in Metro Detroit and the reason the Canton Public Library has partnered with the Detroit Area Diaper Bank for the third annual Stuff the Truck Diaper Drive, November 16 and 17.

The library will collect diapers of any size or brand, newborn through adult, including pull-ups, swim diapers and open packages, from 9:00 AM to 9:00 PM on November 16 and 17. The diapers will go to the Detroit Area Diaper Bank, a nonprofit charitable organization, who dispenses them to SE Michigan partner agencies serving people in crisis. Last year’s drive netted over 26,000 diapers.

“The diaper drive helps us fulfill our mission of connecting our community,” states library director Eva Davis:

Murder and Mayhem in Michigan

Imagine this: unexplained deaths, mysterious suspects, murky alibis and suspenseful prose, all happening in — Ann Arbor, Michigan? Author Harry Dolan has written two books (below) featuring the mystery magazine editor, David Loogan, and his detective sidekick, Elizabeth Waishkey, set in the famous college town. As an extra, Stephen King has recommended them. Be forewarned: reading books set in local communities may lead to murder mystery roadtrips.

Bad things happen by Harry Dolan

Very bad men by Harry Dolan

Older Adults: November 2011

Send your parents a Tech Support Care Package. Google has created a series of short videos demonstrating simple computer tasks such as changing the time on a computer, enlarging the text, copy and paste materials, and more.

National Chocolate Day

October 28 is National Chocolate Day so bake something special for your special someone. You'll find lots of wonderful cookbooks dedicated to chocolate at the library.

Intensely chocolate: 100 scrumptious recipes for true chocolate lovers by Carole Bloom

Chocolate epiphany: exceptional cookies, cakes, and confections for everyone by Francois Payard; with Anne E.