Seniors

World War I: the Americans

Although the United States did not enter the war until 1917, the American Expeditionary Force suffered 320,500 casualties. In memory of the 100th anniversary of the war read about some of these brave men and women:
 

Yanks: the epic story of the American Army in World War I by John S.D. Eisenhower with Joanne Thompson Eisenhower

 

Five lieutenants: the heartbreaking story of five Harvard men who led America to victory in World War I by James Carl Nelson

 

The long way home: an American journey from Ellis Island to the Great War by David Laskin

 

 

 

 

American women in World War I: they also served by Lettie Gavin

 

 

 

 

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

World War I: the Campaigns

The battles of World War I were fought in Europe, the  Middle East, and the Pacific. In memory of the war's 100th anniversary, check out some of the library's many resources on this global event whose repercussions are still being felt today:
 

To conquer hell: the Meuse-Argonne, 1918 by Edward G. Lengel

 

 

Verdun: the longest battle of the Great War by Paul Jankowski

 

 

 

Castles of steel: Britain, Germany, and the winning of the Great War at sea by Robert K. Massie

 

 

 

Yanks: the epic story of the American Army in World War I by John S.D. Eisenhower with Joanne Thompson Eisenhower

 

 

 

Remembering Robin Williams

Beloved actor and comedian Robin Williams passed away on August 11th at the age of 63. The Canton Public Library carries a wide selection of films starring Mr. Williams including Aladdin, Good Morning Vietnam, Mrs. Doubtfire and The World According to Garp.  Feel free to laugh or cry with the work of this American legend. Follow the link for a list of his works in our collection.

World War I: Personal Narratives

Nixon Resignation

This year marks the 40th anniversary of the resignation of Richard Nixon. It was on August 9, 1974 that Nixon became the first president in U.S. history to resign the office. As revelations related to the Watergate scandal continued to escalate, he resigned in the face of almost certain impeachment.

The final days by Bob Woodward, Carl Bernstein

Nixonland: the rise of a president and the fracturing of America by Rick Perlstein

The Nixon Defense: What He Knew and When He Knew It by Dean, John W

Murder Will Out: Bill Morris at Nicola's Books

Author Talk:  Thursday, August 14 at 7:00PM

Detroit native Bill Morris will be at Nicola's Books in Ann Arbor for a reading and signing of his new novel, 'Motor City Burning'. Detroit comes alive in a powerful and thrilling novel set amidst the chaos of the race riots and theserenity of Tiger Baseball on Opening Day 1968.

World War I on Film

In memory of the 100th anniversary of World War I:

The first World War 1914-1918 [videodisc]

The Great War 1918 [videodisc]

War horses of WWI [videodisc] by produced by Testimony Films ; directed by George Pagliero

Killing fields [videodisc]: the first World War, by a co -production of WGBH Boston and British Broadcasting Corporation ; produced and directed by Bill Treharne Jones

Gallipoli [videodisc] by produced by Hamdi Doker Burak Ornek

The Christmas truce [videodisc]

New Features for OverDrive eBooks

OverDrive has just released two new features to help with the ease of reserving popular eBook titles.  

The first, automatic borrowing, allows eBooks and eAudio titles to be automatically checked out when a book becomes available.  While placing a title on hold, click the 'Automatically borrow this title when it becomes available' option.  For more information, be sure to read the OverDrive article.  
The second feature, suspending a hold, ensures the reader that they won't lose their place in the holds queue if they want to temporarily suspend a hold on a title.  This is helpful if the reader is in on a waiting list for a title and is currently reading another. The reader will continue to move up the wait list but the hold will not be filled for an amount of time specified by them.  More information on this can be found in the OverDrive blog.  

What We're Reading August 2014

Reading suggestions from Canton Public Library staff.

The Mangle Street murders by M.R.C. Kasasian

Double agent: the first hero of World War II and how the FBI outwitted and destroyed a Nazi spy ring by Peter Duffy

The end of your life book club by Will Schwalbe

The Late Starters Orchestra by Ari L. Goldman

Far gone by Laura Griffin

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Seniors