Catalog

Search our Catalog

Seniors

California Statehood

California was admitted to the United States on September 9, 1850. Originally colonized by the Spanish in the 17th century, it became part of Mexico in 1821. In 1846, a group of American settlers declared an independent California Repulic shortly after the beginning of the Mexican-American War. The California Gold Rush of 1848 led to a huge increase in Califronia's population and started an economic boom. Some of the many figures connected to the state's rich and complicated history include Sir Francis Drake, Junipero Serra, John Fremont, Leland Stanford, Upton Sinclair, and William Randolph Hearst. Learn more:

Murder Will Out: September 2014

As a mystery reader, have you noticed how often food is described in the story?  Someone is always sitting down to a meal or being called from a meal.  The following feature caterers, bakers, and recipes.

Savvy Seniors: September 2014

Did you know that knee replacement is the most common joint surgery, and that it’s becoming more widespread among boomers and adults over 75? A new topic from NIHSeniorHealth.gov, Knee Replacement, offers videos, quizzes, FAQs and more for older adults who may be considering knee replacement or who just want to know more.  Or check out these alternatives.

Gentle yoga arthritis by featuring contributions by Laurie Sanford and Nancy Forstbauer

Arthritis RX [videodisc]: exercises to keep you active and pain-free by director, Ernie Schultz

The complete guide to healing arthritis by Deborah Mitchell

Yoga for the rest of us [videodisc]: easy yoga for arthritis by Cappy, Peggy

What We're Reading: September, 2014

This month is a mix of history, mystery, a book about books and reading, growing old, and second chances.

Can't we talk about something more pleasant? by Roz Chast

The Mountaintop School for Dogs and other second chances by Ellen Cooney

The 40s: the story of a decade by The New Yorker ; edited by Henry Finder with Giles Harvey ; introduction by David Remnick

The shelf: from LEQ to LES by Phyllis Rose

Buried in a bog by Sheila Connolly

Best in Show Dog Show 2014

Best in Show LogoWho will be Canton's Top Dog? Why not yours? Register now by returning the waiver form by 6:00 PM September 12 and join us on Saturday, September 13 at 11:00 AM in back of the library under the tent. Space for contestants is limited to the first 25 waivers received but all are welcome to come see the show. This event is fun for all ages! Bring your four-legged best friends and show them off in our contests for: Best Costume, Best Trick, Best Behaved, Best Looking, Best Biggest, Best Smallest and Best in Show. Winners will receive fabulous prizes! Enjoy a free hot dog and pop! REGISTRATION BEGINS MONDAY AUGUST 25th.

Computer Skills Lab for Beginners

If you or someone you know needs assistance with basic computer skills, including Internet use and setting up an email account, please stop in to CPL's iLab between 9:00 AM and 11:00 AM on Saturday, September 27th for our drop-in skills lab. We will have guided activities for practice with mouse skills, copying/pasting, and more.  A librarian will be on hand to answer any questions you may have or direct you to activities and tutorials to help build basic computer skills.

*This lab is restricted to basic computer skills, as listed above. Staff will not be able to assist with the diagnosis or repair of computer equipment, or with online financial transactions.

Weekly ebook Drop-In Help

Have you hit a snag with your ereader?  Patrons in need of one-on-one assistance can come in on Fridays from 10:00-11:00 AM to receive basic or extended help with borrowing or downloading books to your electronic device.  No registration required

ebook Basics

Learn the basics of how to check out library ebooks and read them on your Kindle, Nook, iPad or other device. Join us Saturday, September 13th from 10:30am-12:00pm.

Beginning Excel 2010

Learn to create a spreadsheet and manage a list  
with Microsoft Excel 2010.

Registration required. Prerequisite: Mouse and keyboarding skills.

Raja Yoga Healing Meditation

Raja Yoga Meditation helps you reach a deeper understanding of yourself, your intrinsic positive qualities and your innate value. There is beauty in all of us and through meditation the inner beauty not only is revealed to the self, but also to the people around us. On Saturday, September 27 from 4:00-5:45PM, join practitioners from the Brahma Kumaris World Spiritual University to explore these universal concepts and encourage your inner spiritual development toward a fresh perspective on values such as justice, freedom, respect and love. Sessions will be interactive and experiential, where your tools for the inward journey will be explored and shared.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: September 25, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Thursday, September 25 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing Mark Zusak THE BOOK THIEF.  Copies of the book can be requested at the Information Services Desk.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  1939. Nazi Germany. Death has never been busier and is going to become even more so.  Orphaned Liesel Meminger is living outside of Munich, scratching out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can't resist-books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, Liesel learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

Gluten Free Support Group

Have you wondered why everyone is talking about being "gluten-free" ? Are you starting the journey of being gluten-free or have you been without gluten for a long time? This class/support group is for you. Dr Cynthia Shaft-Toll DC will share health benefits of the gluten-free lifestyle : how and where to shop for gluten-free items, how to and where are the best gluten-free restaurants, how to cook for holidays and special events. Guest speakers also will be presenting at different months. Some sample gluten-free food will be available and we hope for the group to share their best recipes as well.  Group meets Tuesday September 9 at 7:00 - 8:00 pm.

Knit Night - September

Join other handcrafters for an evening of sharing and learning. all ages and stages are welcome at this informal gathering on Monday September 8 from 7:00 - 8:30 pm in Group Study Room A. Bring your own project, yarn and needles.

The British Burn Washington

Two hundred years ago this year, during the War of 1812,  the British army occupied Washington, setting fire to many public buildings, including  the White House and the Capitol. It was on  August 24, 1814, that approximately 4.000 troops entered the city, causing most of the residents to flee. A warning was dispatched to First Lady Dolley Madison who managed to escape across the Potomac River with a portrait of George Washington in tow. This was the only time since the American Revolution that a foreign power has captured the United States capital.

The burning of Washington: the British invasion of 1814 by Anthony S. Pitch


Washington burning: how a Frenchman's vision of our nation's capital survived Congress, the Founding Fathers, and the invading British Army by Les Standiford

World War I: the Americans

Although the United States did not enter the war until 1917, the American Expeditionary Force suffered 320,500 casualties. In memory of the 100th anniversary of the war read about some of these brave men and women:

Yanks: the epic story of the American Army in World War I by John S.D. Eisenhower with Joanne Thompson Eisenhower


Five lieutenants: the heartbreaking story of five Harvard men who led America to victory in World War I by James Carl Nelson


The long way home: an American journey from Ellis Island to the Great War by David Laskin


American women in World War I: they also served by Lettie Gavin


Crusader nation: the United States in peace and the Great War by David Traxel

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

World War I: the Campaigns

The battles of World War I were fought in Europe, the  Middle East, and the Pacific. In memory of the war's 100th anniversary, check out some of the library's many resources on this global event whose repercussions are still being felt today:

To conquer hell: the Meuse-Argonne, 1918 by Edward G. Lengel


Verdun: the longest battle of the Great War by Paul Jankowski


Castles of steel: Britain, Germany, and the winning of the Great War at sea by Robert K. Massie


Yanks: the epic story of the American Army in World War I by John S.D. Eisenhower with Joanne Thompson Eisenhower


Setting the desert on fire: T.E. Lawrence and Britain's secret war in Arabia, 1916/1918 by James Barr