Catalog

Search our Catalog

Seniors

John F. Kennedy on Film

This year marks the 50th anniversary of the death of President John F. Kennedy.  Check out some of the following documentaries for some historical perspective:

The Kennedy inauguration [videodisc]: January 20, 1961 by Films for the Humanities & Sciences ; NBC News ; NBC Universal, Inc

A tour of the White House with Mrs. John F. Kennedy [videodisc]: 1962 televised tour by created and produced by CBS News ; proudly presented by Marshall Fields, the Field Museum

Cuban missile crisis [videodisc]: three men go to war

American Experience: JFK by Kennedy, John F

The Kennedy Half-Century by Kennedy, John F

JFK Remembered: 50 Years Later by Kennedy, John Fitzgerald

The Day Kennedy Died by Spacey, Kevin

New Documentaries on the Shelf

Manhunt— Boston bombers [videodisc] by a NOVA production ; produced and directed by Miles O'Brien

The search for Robert Johnson [videodisc]: the real story of the greatest folk blues guitar player that ever lived by produced and directed by Chris Hunt.

Treasures of New York [videodisc] by WLIW21 in association with WNET

Nureyev [videodisc]: a portrait by producer and director, Patricia Foy

Richard III [videodisc]: martyr or monster? by produced by Coda Publishing ; written and directed by Bob Carruthers

The waiting room [videodisc] by Docurama ; directed by Peter Nicks

Job Search Toolkit

Whether you are looking for a new job or considering changing careers, the library can help!

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb

New Books on the Biography Shelf

Daughter of empire: my life as a Mountbatten by Lady Pamela Hicks

Jim Henson: the biography by Brian Jay Jones

Johnny Carson by Henry Bushkin

My story by Elizabeth Smart with Chris Stewart

Author Talk: Mark Binelli at Nicola's Book

Detroit City is the Place to Be: The Afterlife of an American City. Author and former Detroiter Mark Binelli will discuss his recent book on Wednesday, November 6 at Nicola's Books at 7:00 PM. Binelli's book is a realistic assessment of Detroit and its' future.

Native American Heritage Month

birdIn 1990, President George H.W. Bush declared the month of November as "National American Indian Heritage Month", which has come to be commonly referred to as Native American Heritage Month. By either name it is a time of "recognition for the significant contributions the first Americans made to the establishment and growth of the U.S." The Library's collection is a great place to look for materials about Native Americans and their place in our country's history.

500 nations: an illustrated history of North American Indians by Alvin M. Josephy, Jr. ; based on a documentary filmscript by Jack Leustig, Roberta Grossman, Lee Miller, and William Morgan with contributions by John M.D. Pohl

The Cambridge history of the native peoples of the Americas

Daily life of Native Americans from post-Columbian through nineteenth-century America by Alice Nash and Christoph Strobel

It's Medicare Enrollment Time - We've Got Answers

It's Medicare enrollment time and we all have questions. Walgreens will be here to answer those questions, ease your mind and save you money when possible. Please join us on November 12 at 3:00 PM and bring your questions. The enrollment period ends in December.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group January-June 2014

Looking for a lively book discussion? The Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group meets on the fourth Thursday of the month from 2:00-3:00PM in Group Study Room A at Canton Public Library. 

January 23              Annie's Ghosts: A Journey into a Family's Secret by Steve Luxenberg

February 27           The Closers by Michael Connelly

March 27                Detroit: An American Autopsy by Charlie LeDuff

April 24                   The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian

May 22                     Crank by Ellen Hopkins

June 26                    The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Lou Reed, Velvet Underground Leader, Dies at 71

Lou Reed, leader of avante-garde band The Velvet Underground before going solo in the early Seventies, died this week (October 27) at the age of 71. He had no wish for fame, but is probably one of the best known 'unknown' musicians of the past 30 years. A songwriter, guitarist, and vocalist, Reed had a distinctive voice. As a member of The Velvet Underground, he was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1996. (Photo Credit: Stephen Munday. Olympics Day 13 - Lou Reed Performs At The Medal Plaza. Getty Images. 23 Feb. 2006. eLibrary. Web. 31 Oct. 2013.)

Celebrate Diwali

The Hindu Festival of Lights is celebrated on November 3 in 2013. We are celebrating this annual, joyful holiday on Wednesday, November 13 from 6:30 to 8:30 PM at the Canton Public Library. Please join us for food, dancing and song. The Festival of Lights, also known at Deepavali, is held in honor of Rama-Chandra, the seventh incarnation of the god Vishnu and is a triumph of light over dark, good over evil. Come hear, taste, smell and watch this happy celebration with your neighbors as the Indian community is showcased.

British Historical Dramas

Three recent television dramas draw on British history for their inspiration. The White Queen, airing on Starz, is based on Philippa Gregory's historical novels about the Wars of the Roses - The White Queen, The Red Queen, and The Kingmaker's Daughter. PBS's The Hollow Crown combines four of Shakespeare's plays to tell the story of three kings who shaped English history - Richard III, Henry IV, and Henry V. The new CW series Reign chronicles the life of the teenage Mary, Queen of Scots. Enhance your viewing experience with some historical background on both the people and the events by checking out some of these titles from the Library's collection:

Blood sisters: the women behind the Wars of the Roses by Sarah Gristwood

Lancaster against York: the Wars of the Roses and the foundation of modern Britain by Trevor Royle

The Wars of the Roses by Alison Weir

Our Own Snug Fireside: Life during the Civil War

Join us on Saturday, November 16 from 2:00-3:00 PM for a peek into the world which no one alive today has witnessed first-hand. As living historians renowned for their knowledge on daily life of the mid-19th century, Larissa Fleishman and Ken Giorlando will draw you into their world of horses & carriages, oil lamps & candles, and hoop skirts & top hats as they bring back the everyday life of long ago.

"Our Own Snug Fireside” is a program for audiences of all ages which offers a first-hand look into the activities, chores, occupations, manners, etiquette, and clothing of a time from over one hundred and fifty years ago. Using replica artifacts, entertaining exchanges, fun filled facts, and a bit of humor our presenters will show what life was like during such an intense time in American History: The Civil War.

Mrs. Fleishman and Mr. Giorlando have been students of history for decades, and not only have intently studied the everyday life of our ancestors, but have also been involved in the practice of historical presenting and living history/reenacting for nearly as long. “Our Own Snug Fireside” is certainly a chance to see history come alive.

[Tatton Park Sept 201027 by DeviousWolf Photography is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0]

Lunch & a Book November 2013

On Thursday November 14 at noon, we will be discussing:

The Paris wife: a novel by Paula McLain — Hadley Richardson is a quiet twenty-eight-year-old who has all but given up on love and happiness-until she meets Ernest Hemingway. Following a whirlwind courtship and wedding, the pair set sail for Paris, where they become the golden couple in the fabled Lost Generation. Though deeply in love, the Hemingways are ill prepared for the hard-drinking and fast-living life of Jazz Age Paris. Surrounded by beautiful women and competing egos, Ernest struggles to find the voice that will earn him a place in history, pouring all the richness and intensity of his life with Hadley and their circle of friends into the novel that will become The Sun Also Rises. Hadley, meanwhile, strives to hold on to her sense of self as the demands of life with Ernest grow costly and her roles as wife, friend, and muse become more challenging.

Adult Writers' Group November 2013

Interested in writing? Join other adults to share your work, get feedback and discuss the craft of writing. We will meet at 2:00 PM: