Catalog

Search our Catalog

Seniors

The British Burn Washington

Two hundred years ago this year, during the War of 1812,  the British army occupied Washington, setting fire to many public buildings, including  the White House and the Capitol. It was on  August 24, 1814, that approximately 4.000 troops entered the city, causing most of the residents to flee. A warning was dispatched to First Lady Dolley Madison who managed to escape across the Potomac River with a portrait of George Washington in tow. This was the only time since the American Revolution that a foreign power has captured the United States capital.

The burning of Washington: the British invasion of 1814 by Anthony S. Pitch


Washington burning: how a Frenchman's vision of our nation's capital survived Congress, the Founding Fathers, and the invading British Army by Les Standiford

World War I: the Americans

Although the United States did not enter the war until 1917, the American Expeditionary Force suffered 320,500 casualties. In memory of the 100th anniversary of the war read about some of these brave men and women:

Yanks: the epic story of the American Army in World War I by John S.D. Eisenhower with Joanne Thompson Eisenhower


Five lieutenants: the heartbreaking story of five Harvard men who led America to victory in World War I by James Carl Nelson


The long way home: an American journey from Ellis Island to the Great War by David Laskin


American women in World War I: they also served by Lettie Gavin


Crusader nation: the United States in peace and the Great War by David Traxel

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

World War I: the Campaigns

The battles of World War I were fought in Europe, the  Middle East, and the Pacific. In memory of the war's 100th anniversary, check out some of the library's many resources on this global event whose repercussions are still being felt today:

To conquer hell: the Meuse-Argonne, 1918 by Edward G. Lengel


Verdun: the longest battle of the Great War by Paul Jankowski


Castles of steel: Britain, Germany, and the winning of the Great War at sea by Robert K. Massie


Yanks: the epic story of the American Army in World War I by John S.D. Eisenhower with Joanne Thompson Eisenhower


Setting the desert on fire: T.E. Lawrence and Britain's secret war in Arabia, 1916/1918 by James Barr

Remembering Robin Williams

Beloved actor and comedian Robin Williams passed away on August 11th at the age of 63. The Canton Public Library carries a wide selection of films starring Mr. Williams including Aladdin, Good Morning Vietnam, Mrs. Doubtfire and The World According to Garp.  Feel free to laugh or cry with the work of this American legend. Follow the link for a list of his works in our collection.

Nixon Resignation

This year marks the 40th anniversary of the resignation of Richard Nixon. It was on August 9, 1974 that Nixon became the first president in U.S. history to resign the office. As revelations related to the Watergate scandal continued to escalate, he resigned in the face of almost certain impeachment.

The final days by Bob Woodward, Carl Bernstein


Nixonland: the rise of a president and the fracturing of America by Rick Perlstein


The Nixon Defense: What He Knew and When He Knew It by Dean, John W


The conviction of Richard Nixon: the untold story of the Frost/Nixon interviews by James Reston, Jr

Murder Will Out: Bill Morris at Nicola's Books

Author Talk:  Thursday, August 14 at 7:00PM

Detroit native Bill Morris will be at Nicola's Books in Ann Arbor for a reading and signing of his new novel, 'Motor City Burning'. Detroit comes alive in a powerful and thrilling novel set amidst the chaos of the race riots and the serenity of Tiger Baseball on Opening Day 1968.

World War I on Film

In memory of the 100th anniversary of World War I:

The first World War 1914-1918 [videodisc]

The Great War 1918 [videodisc]

War horses of WWI [videodisc] by produced by Testimony Films ; directed by George Pagliero

Killing fields [videodisc]: the first World War, by a co -production of WGBH Boston and British Broadcasting Corporation ; produced and directed by Bill Treharne Jones

Gallipoli [videodisc] by produced by Hamdi Doker Burak Ornek

The Christmas truce [videodisc]

Last voyage of the Lusitania [videodisc] by produced and directed by Peter Schnall

Savvy Seniors

Wayne County Regional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped's Brown Bag Book Club will meet Tuesday, August 12, Noon to 2 PM.

This month they are discussing The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty and Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman.

 Coffee will be served. Please bring your own lunch. Meetings are typically held on the second Tuesday of each month at the Library for the Blind, 30555 Michigan Avenue in Westland.

New Features for OverDrive eBooks

OverDrive has just released two new features to help with the ease of reserving popular eBook titles.  

The first, automatic borrowing, allows eBooks and eAudio titles to be automatically checked out when a book becomes available.  While placing a title on hold, click the 'Automatically borrow this title when it becomes available' option.  For more information, be sure to read the OverDrive article.  

The second feature, suspending a hold, ensures the reader that they won't lose their place in the holds queue if they want to temporarily suspend a hold on a title.  This is helpful if the reader is in on a waiting list for a title and is currently reading another. The reader will continue to move up the wait list but the hold will not be filled for an amount of time specified by them.  More information on this can be found in the OverDrive blog.  

World War I at the Movies

World War I began one hundred years ago this year, on August 1, 1914.

The African Queen [videodisc] by a Romulus-Horizon production


All quiet on the western front [videodisc] by a Universal -International presentation


The big parade [videodisc] by a Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Picture ; a Turner Entertainment Co. and Thames Television presentation ; story by Laurence Stallings ; director, King Vidor


Darling Lili [videodisc] by Paramount Pictures presents


The dawn patrol [videodisc] by Warner Bros. Pictures presents


A farewell to arms [videodisc] by Paramount


Four sons [videodisc] by William Fox presents a John Ford production ; adapted by Philip Klein

Murder Will Out: August, 2014

A beleaguered NYPD detective, a housekeeper, a reformed hacker, a widowed FBI agent, a psychic tarot card reader, a forensic scientists, and a demoted Detective Inspector. What do they have in common?  Each is the lead character in one of these debut mysteries.

Never alone by C.J. Carpenter



Death comes to the village by Catherine Lloyd


The quantum breach by Denver Acey

Ice shear by M.P. Cooley

The White Magic Five and Dime by New York times bestselling author Steve Hockensmith with Lisa Falco

Everyone lies by A.D. Garrett

Savvy Seniors: August, 2014

10 Movie Favorites of baby boomers according to a recent blog posted on Next Avenue's Route 360 by Linda Bernstein. Best part of the survey?  The memorable lines included. 


The sound of music [videodisc] by Twentieth Century Fox

The graduate [videodisc] by an Embassy Pictures release

Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid [videodisc] by Twentieth Century Fox


Love story [videodisc]
by Paramount Pictures

The Godfather [videodisc] by [by] Mario Puzo ; Paramount Pictures presents an Albert S. Ruddy production

The paper chase [videodisc] by a Thompson-Paul production

World War I: Biographies

In memory of the 100th anniversary of the Great War check out one of these biographies of the people who lived through it:

Ace of aces: the life of captain Eddie Rickenbacker by H. Paul Jeffers


Suddenly we didn't want to die: memoirs of a World War I marine by Elton E. Mackin ; with an introduction and annotation by George B. Clark ; foreword by Victor H. Krulak


Archduke of Sarajevo: The romance and tragedy of Franz Ferdinand of Austria by Gordon Brook-Shepherd


Femme fatale: love, lies, and the unknown life of Mata Hari by Pat Shipman


Hero: the life and legend of Lawrence of Arabia by Michael Korda


Richthofen: beyond the legend of the Red Baron by Peter Kilduff

First World War 100th Anniversary

This year marks the 100th anniversary of the beginning of World War I which engulfed the globe from 1914 to 1919. It has been estimated that 10 million died and another 20 million were wounded in the conflict. Austria-Hungary declared war on Serbia on July 28, 1914 in response to the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand, heir to the Austro-Hungarian Empire, on June 29. The "domino effect" of alliance obligations that ensued let to the inevitability of a global conflict, with Serbian ally Russia first declaring war on Austria-Hungary, and then Germany declaring war on Russia. Battles also took place in the Middle East. The United States eventually entered the war in 1917. Called the "war to end all wars" in reality, the peace treaty is believed by many historians to have set the stage for World War II.

Computer Skills Lab for Beginners

If you or someone you know needs assistance with basic computer skills, including Internet use and setting up an email account, please stop in to CPL's iLab between 9:00 AM and 11:00 AM on Monday, August 18 for our first drop-in skills lab. We will have guided activities for practice with mouse skills, copying/pasting, and more.  A librarian will be on hand to answer any questions you may have or direct you to activities and tutorials to help build basic computer skills.

*This lab is restricted to basic computer skills, as listed above. Staff will not be able to assist with the diagnosis or repair of computer equipment, or with online financial transactions.