Kids

Nonfiction may sound like school, but check out these reads that are not just informational, but fun, too!

It seems like these days laughs can be hard to come by. Have no fear--the Canton Public Library can hook you up with jokes and laughs for days. Enjoy!

I am Doug the pug by Megan Faulkner

Thank you for helping us have the best 62 days of our year at CPL! Join us Saturday, 8/15 @ 10:00am on Facebook Live for an Elephant & Piggie puppet show to celebrate 62 Days of Summer! Piggie and Gerald will be sharing a hilarious live show that you can enjoy from anywhere. Then explore more with the Elephant & Piggie resources and books below.  

Waiting is not easy! by illustrator Mo Willems

Ollivander's Wand Kit: Grab and Go

A scroll with the word Ollivanders in cursive with a wand emitting yellow and purple light.

Attention all Hogwarts students! Looking for a wand for this upcoming school year? Ollivander has created a special wand kit for wizards ages 9-17. Each wand kit includes assembly instructions, a wooden rod, magic clay, and three wand cores. Sign up for Ollivander's Wand Kit, while supplies last, and create your own wand at home!

 

Traditionally, the "wand selects the wizard," and you can take the Pottermore wand quiz to find out what wand you would have at Hogwarts. Or you can select a wand core that fits your personality from this wand core page.

 

Patrons ages 9-17 are welcome to register for a wand kit from Wednesday, 8/12 through Wednesday, 8/19. Registered patrons will be contacted on Monday, 8/24 to schedule a time to pick up their kits. 

 

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Get inspired by the lives of real people whose curiosity and drive led them to become scientists, inventors, makers, and creators.

Dear Benjamin Banneker by Andrea Davis Pinkney
Also available in: e-book

Throughout his life Banneker was troubled that all blacks were not free. And so, in 1791, he wrote to Secretary of State Thomas Jefferson, who had signed the Declaration of Independence. Banneker attacked the institution of slavery and dared to call Jefferson a hypocrite for owning slaves. Jefferson responded. This is the story of Benjamin Banneker--his science, his politics, his morals, and his extraordinary correspondence with Thomas Jefferson. For more on Benjamin Banneker, look up JBIO BANNEKER.

Also available in: e-book | e-audiobook

Patricia Bath made significant contributions to ophthalmology and laser surgery. For more on Patricia Bath, look up JBIO BATH.

Mindfulness with Reset Brain and Body

woman meditating

Mindfulness is the idea of focusing your awareness on the present moment. It affords many health benefits, stress reduction, and increases your gratitude of everyday moments.

On August 20, join us for a virtual day of mindfulness with Reset Brain and Body, based out of Plymouth.

At 2pm, Bridget will teach kids and families mindfulness.

At 6pm, Holly will lead adults in how to start a mindfulness practice. 

Participants will receive a code to access Mindfulness 101, an e-book created by Reset Brain and Body. 

This program will take place virtually over Zoom. Participants will receive an email with the Zoom link the day before the program starts (on August 19). Registration is required, and begins on August 6. 

If you are registering for the 2pm session, please register just one of your family members, and include the age(s) of your family members who will be attending, so we can best tailor the program to you!

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Two letters received by Thorndyke the Bear in July 2020

 

Hey Kids,

You might know how exciting it is to get letters in the mail. It is a great way to stay connected to people you love, and a fun way to be creative as well. I am so delighted because I got mail this summer: an extra special envelope with ONE letter and ONE super cool drawing. The letter was bittersweet (that means both happy and sad) because I was glad to read that I am missed, but I am also upset that I have not been able to see any of you. The drawing was super cool because it reminded me of a trip I took many years ago to the Novi Public Library when I saw a racecar IN PERSON. 

The fact is, I miss all of you. I miss hearing about the books you are reading, I miss seeing you put on puppet shows, I miss watching you say hello to the fish (they are lonely, too). I miss meeting brand new patrons and I really miss seeing my old friends. It is really hard to stay cheerful even though there has been a lot that I am thankful for, like the sunny days of summer, the wildlife that roams around the library, the library staff who are working so hard to keep the library shipshape for your return. So sometimes I am sad.

But getting a piece of mail has reminded me that one day I will see you all again, and I continue to look forward to that day. In the meantime, I have included some photos from the archive that might be of interest and of course, some books you might like about sending and receiving letters.

Bear Hugs,

Thorndyke

Thorndyke the Bear at the Novi Public Library next to a racecar
Thorndyke the Bear in a Mask on the Childrens Reference Desk

 

Hey Kids,

I've been at the library for a long time, which means I have a lot of memories about the library. These memories include the outfits I've worn, the programs I've attended, the librarians I've worked with, and all the improvements that have taken place at the library. Do you have library memories? I would love to get a letter or drawing about your memories in the mail

I've had a lot of time to think about my library memories lately. Recently I wrote a little bit about how difficult change can be, but one of the good parts of change is that it gives you a reason to revisit old memories. Sometimes these are memories of another person, or a place, or of yourself when you were younger. Sometimes they are sad, but they can be funny or happy, too. Sometimes you might feel differently about the memory than you did during the actual experience. Sometimes two people have different memories about the same experience.

It can be very fun to ask your parents, grandparents, or other family members about their memories and stories from their childhood. But memories are not just about the past: you are making new memories RIGHT NOW. You can help your future self remember by writing down what happens to you, or by making a memory book.

Below, I included some memories of the different Reference Desks: do you remember these? There are also some books about memories you can put on hold and check out. Enjoy your stroll down memory lane!

Bear Hugs,

Thorndyke

Thorndyke Sitting at the Reference Desk

Looking for a new series to read? Check out these newer series for readers who love to read with a continuing cast of characters! See read-alike suggestions next to each book to pick a great new series today.

The haunted house next door by Andres Miedoso

This series is about a ghost hunting investigator and is recommended for lovers of Eerie Elementary and The Haunted Library. 

Upbeat STEAM-based fiction with a lovable cast of characters perfect for fans of Pete the Cat and Mercy Watson. 

Each year, the Eisner Awards are given to the best Graphic Novels for kids, teens, and adults. Here are your 2020 nominees in the Kids Graphic Novels:

Best Publication for Early Readers

Subscribe to RSS - Kids