Catalog

Search our Catalog

Adults

Adult Contemporary Book Discussion September 15

Please join the Adult Contemporary Book Discussion Group on Monday, September 15 at 7:00 PM in the Community Room to discuss:

The whip: a novel by Karen Kondazian — Based on the true story of a woman, Charlotte "Charley" Parkhurst (1812-1879) who lived most of her extraordinary life as a man in the old west. As a young woman in Rhode Island, she fell in love with a runaway slave and had his child. The destruction of her family drove her west to California, dressed as a man, to track the killer of her daughter.

ELL Conversation Group

Practice speaking English in an informal setting with Community Literacy Council volunteers, September Thursdays and Fridays,  9:30 AM to 11:00 AM in the Purple Room.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: September 25, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Thursday, September 25 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing Mark Zusak THE BOOK THIEF.  Copies of the book can be requested at the Information Services Desk.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  1939. Nazi Germany. Death has never been busier and is going to become even more so.  Orphaned Liesel Meminger is living outside of Munich, scratching out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can't resist-books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, Liesel learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

Lunch and a Book September 2014

On Thursday, September 11 at noon, we will be discussing:

1984: a novel by George Orwell ; with an afterword by Erich Fromm — Written in 1948, George Orwell's classic novel created a chilling future where Big Brother and the Thought Police monitored every move. And while the year 1984 has come and gone, Orwell's haunting vision of the world remains timeless.

For more insight on this work, take a look at these interviews with Cory Doctorow or Christopher Hitchens.

ELL Book Club

Advanced English Language Learners — join us to read and discuss books in English. Books will be discussed until finished. Meets at Noon in Group Study Room A Friday, September 5th and 19th.

Beginning Excel 2010

Learn to create a spreadsheet and manage a list  
with Microsoft Excel 2010.

Registration required. Prerequisite: Mouse and keyboarding skills.

Adult Writers' Group September 2014

Interested in writing? Join other adults to share your work, get feedback and discuss the craft of writing. We will meet at 2:00 PM on:
  • Saturday, September 13
  • Saturday, September 27

Knit Night - September

Join other handcrafters for an evening of sharing and learning. all ages and stages are welcome at this informal gathering on Monday September 8 from 7:00 - 8:30 pm in Group Study Room A. Bring your own project, yarn and needles.

Gluten Free Support Group

Have you wondered why everyone is talking about being "gluten-free" ? Are you starting the journey of being gluten-free or have you been without gluten for a long time? This class/support group is for you. Dr Cynthia Shaft-Toll DC will share health benefits of the gluten-free lifestyle : how and where to shop for gluten-free items, how to and where are the best gluten-free restaurants, how to cook for holidays and special events. Guest speakers also will be presenting at different months. Some sample gluten-free food will be available and we hope for the group to share their best recipes as well.  Group meets Tuesday September 9 at 7:00 - 8:00 pm.

The British Burn Washington

Two hundred years ago this year, during the War of 1812,  the British army occupied Washington, setting fire to many public buildings, including  the White House and the Capitol. It was on  August 24, 1814, that approximately 4.000 troops entered the city, causing most of the residents to flee. A warning was dispatched to First Lady Dolley Madison who managed to escape across the Potomac River with a portrait of George Washington in tow. This was the only time since the American Revolution that a foreign power has captured the United States capital.

The burning of Washington: the British invasion of 1814 by Anthony S. Pitch


Washington burning: how a Frenchman's vision of our nation's capital survived Congress, the Founding Fathers, and the invading British Army by Les Standiford

World War I: the Americans

Although the United States did not enter the war until 1917, the American Expeditionary Force suffered 320,500 casualties. In memory of the 100th anniversary of the war read about some of these brave men and women:

Yanks: the epic story of the American Army in World War I by John S.D. Eisenhower with Joanne Thompson Eisenhower


Five lieutenants: the heartbreaking story of five Harvard men who led America to victory in World War I by James Carl Nelson


The long way home: an American journey from Ellis Island to the Great War by David Laskin


American women in World War I: they also served by Lettie Gavin


Crusader nation: the United States in peace and the Great War by David Traxel

Free Online Classes to Start Soon

The free Gale Courses that the library offers to its cardholders are set to begin on August 20. You can register for any number of classes and in any subject area that appeals to you. The goal is to provide lifelong learning opportunities for you to learn, at your own pace, new skills or improve existing ones. Take advantage of the vast array of instructor-led courses soon.

Three Days of Peace and Music

"By the time we got to Woodstock, we were half a million strong." Those words, written by Joni Mitchell in her famous song about the event, perfectly captured the feelings about the music festival for those who were there. It was forty five years ago on August 15, 1969, that thousands of people gathered in rural Bethel, New York to attend what would become an historic outdoor concert. For those who attended - and even like Mitchell - those who could not, Woodstock became a defining moment. Richie Havens, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Santana, Neil Young, Jefferson Airplane, the Who and Crosby, Stills & Nash were just some of the musicians who performed that weekend.

Special Needs Storytime: Folktale Fridays

Please join us on Friday, September 5 at 4:00 PM in the Community Room for Folktale Fridays. This is an interactive, sensory-friendly storytime filled with folktales and fairytales especially designed for older children (ages 13 and over) and adults with developmental delays and/or other special needs. Families and caregivers are welcome after completing the registration process. Registration begins August 22. This program has been funded through the Dollar General Literacy Foundation grant.

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

World War I: the Campaigns

The battles of World War I were fought in Europe, the  Middle East, and the Pacific. In memory of the war's 100th anniversary, check out some of the library's many resources on this global event whose repercussions are still being felt today:

To conquer hell: the Meuse-Argonne, 1918 by Edward G. Lengel


Verdun: the longest battle of the Great War by Paul Jankowski


Castles of steel: Britain, Germany, and the winning of the Great War at sea by Robert K. Massie


Yanks: the epic story of the American Army in World War I by John S.D. Eisenhower with Joanne Thompson Eisenhower


Setting the desert on fire: T.E. Lawrence and Britain's secret war in Arabia, 1916/1918 by James Barr

Remembering Robin Williams

Beloved actor and comedian Robin Williams passed away on August 11th at the age of 63. The Canton Public Library carries a wide selection of films starring Mr. Williams including Aladdin, Good Morning Vietnam, Mrs. Doubtfire and The World According to Garp.  Feel free to laugh or cry with the work of this American legend. Follow the link for a list of his works in our collection.

Shark Week

Duh Dun, Duh Dun...

It's that time of year again: Shark Week is here! Get in on all of the fintastic action with some of these great books and DVDs all about these mysterious and amazing animals. Whether you are a Shark Week veteran or a first timer these reads will leave you hungry for more.


The blacktip reef shark
by Sara Green

Bluntnose sixgill sharks and other strange sharks by Rachel Lynette

A daredevil's guide to swimming with sharks by Amie Jane Leavitt

Sharks by Kris Hirschmann

Whale shark by Anders Hanson ; consulting editor, Diane Craig, M.A./Reading Specialist