Catalog

Search our Catalog

Adults

Baseball for the kids

Check your local listings this week baseball fans because from August 21-30, 2009, the Little League Baseball Wold Series is taking place. Sixteen teams from around the world will compete to be the best Little League team on Earth! The official website is www.littleleague.org, so definitely check it out! These kids are super-serious about baseball and you might get a glimpse of a future pro!

Michigan Renaissance Festival Opens Saturday

Travel back to the 16th century when the 31st annual Michigan Renaissance Festival opens Saturday, August 22 for a 7-week run. Hilarity and merriment will ensue, with live entertainment from Ded Bob, Ric Roc, Owain Phyfe and other faire favorites, plus jousting, wine-tasting and special events each weekend. The festival runs every Saturday-Sunday through October 4.

Dark Avengers Assemble...

The Dark Avengers...Marvel's latest crossover event. Who are they? Villains dressed as heroes, taking their name, doing heroic things...sort of. See all the twisted fallout. Do some rise to the challenge? Do some villains change heart? What dark things are they realy up to, and what about the real heroes? Look for all the answers in Dark Reign, and, on its way in September, Dark Avengers Vol. 1.

Best Colleges 2010

Book of CollegesU.S.News and World Report has named the best schools in the nation in their latest issue. You can also check out the newest college directory, Complete Book of Colleges.

Your baby is smarter than you think

smart babyHow smart is your baby? Possibly smarter than you think, and they learn in ways that are vastly different from the way we learn when we are age five and older. Play and interaction with caregivers are the most important ways babies learn. The good news is that this requires no special toys or other tangibles; all you need is time.

image Baby Toys by S*H*A*D*D*A*I used under Creative Commons license

Reading together

Everyone knows that reading aloud is good for children, but did you know that it also has significant benefits for grown-ups and families as well? The connection that is created when people read together can't be overstated. Take some time to read with your family today.

New Tamil Books

Almost two dozen Tamil books are being put on the shelf this afternoon. Fiction titles include: Eṉṉuyirāy nīyirukka- by Ār. Makēsvari and Oṟṟaiyaṭip pātai by Kaṇṇaṉ Kiruṣṇaṉ. Nonfiction titles include: Kāṣmīr by Cantiraṉ and Jōtiṭam piṟanta katai by Vē. Laṭcumaṇaṉ. And there will be more coming soon!

New Arabic Books

We are starting to receive our new Arabic language books. Books being put on the shelf today include the fiction title Zaman al-khuyūl al-bayḍāʼ by Ibrāhīm Naṣrallāh and nonfiction such as al-Salaṭāt al-shahiyah by iʻdād Līnah Shbārū Bayḍūn, et al. Come in and check them out!

Green Flowers

Green FlowersGreen Flowers: Unexpected Beauty for the Garden, Container or Vase by Alison Hoblyn, photographs by Marie O'Hara

This book is a terrific inspiration for a tone-on-tone garden bed. Some of my favorites include Hacquetia epipactis, Euphorbia lathyris (mole plant), and Bupleurum rotundifolium (hare's ear).

Website of the week: CDC Travel Page

It is the height of summer and everyone is in the middle of travelling. Since the recent outbreak of swine flu, travelers are becoming increasingly worried about their safety abroad. Before you travel it is essential to know any possible health risks you may or may not be exposed to at your destination. "The Center for disease Control and Prevention" is a site managed by the U.S. Department of Health Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that offers advice and tips for travelers. They have a database of countries that will tell you valuable health information. Before you see your doctor, first go to the CDC Travel website and read their updated page on the country you plan to visit. This is the same website the doctors use, to see which vaccines are needed, as well as Malaria and other issues.

Secret History Lessons

James Ellroy, the "Demon Dog of American Crime Fiction", is probably best known as the writer behind the novel "LA Confidential" which was turned into a 1997 Academy Award nominated film. While LA Confidential is a fantastic novel (even better than the stellar film), it's not Ellroy's strongest work, at least not in this writer's opinion.

Are You Geektastic?

Geekt.preview.jpgIf you've been waiting for a chance to celebrate your inner (or outer) geek, check out this collection of short stories and comics put together by Holly Black and Cecil Castellucci. From Star Wars to Star Trek, gaming, T.V. shows, drama club, and more, a variety of your favorite authors tackle the geek world (and admit they are from it). As a former marching band geek who went through the TAG program, Geektastic is the book I didn't know I was waiting for.

Thorndyke Thoughts

Hey Kids! Wowzers! I am SO proud of you! Did you know that an incredible 4,798 kids and teens signed up for Summer Reading 2009?!?! And that 2,384 kids and teens finished summer reading and got books from the Scholastic Book Fair sponsored by the Friends of the Library? Thanks Friends! The Adult Librarians told me that over 1000 grown-ups signed up for summer reading and lots of them earned books too. I think you all deserve a pat on the back. Go you!

Fifth Annual Western Wayne County Senior Olympics

Men and women, 50 years and older, will compete in the Western Wayne Senior Olympics August 17 through August 21, 2009. A complete schedule of events is available at Canton Seniors Leisure Services.

Kay Scarpetta On Film

Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta mystery series is coming to the big screen. None other than Angelina Jolie will play Ms. Scarpetta. Producers Mark Gordon and Geyer Kosinski are hoping for a franchise out of Ms. Cornwell's books, though none of the films will necessarily follow the plotline of any particular tome. According to Variety,

This film won't be tied to a specific Cornwell mystery title. Much the way that Jason Bourne morphed into an action hero in plots not rigidly locked into the Robert Ludlum book series, the opera-loving coroner Scarpetta will be the lead in a suspense thriller in the vein of "The Silence of the Lambs" and "Seven."

Battle of the Badges!

It's the Firemen vs. the Police at the annual Battle of the Badges blood drive on Tuesday, August 18 from 11:00-5:00 at the Canton Township Administration Building. Donors select either service when they sign in, and the American Red Cross will donate $1 per donor to the U of M Burn Center. For an appointment, phone 734-394-5246, or drop in between 11:00AM and 4:45PM.

New Gujarati Books

Over 100 new Gujarati titles are being put on the shelves today. Fiction titles include: Nahīntara by Yogeśa Joshī and Ūḍatāṃ pataṅgiyāṃ by Bakula Dave. Nonfiction titles include: Mejīka opha vejīṭeriyana kūkarī : sampūrṇa śākāhārī vānagīo, sāndu bhojana hoya ke bhavya pārṭī ā rasasabhara pustaka potāno jādu karaśe by Nainā Ḍôkaṭar and Umbare pragaṭāvīe koḍiyuṃ by Suśīlā Mekavānaa.

New German Books

Our German language books are starting to arrive. There will be more, but the first three to get here are: Eine exklusive Liebe by Johanna Adorján, Macho man by  Moritz Netenjakob, and Mangelexemplar by Sarah Kuttner. They are going on the shelf today, so come in and check them out!

Comcast.net jobs

From resume and interview tips to job search tips, Comcast.net's jobs site can help you get ready for your next exciting job position. Even the message boards can be helpful. One response to a job search question asking for work at home jobs listed the "world wide work at home" website which gives info, job listings and resources leading to a work at home job. Click on Comcast.net jobs to get started.

National Inventors Month

This is the month for all your great ideas for a "better mousetrap" to be considered once again! Started in 1998 by the United Inventors Association of the USA, the Academy Of Applied Science and Inventors' Digest Magazine, August has been designated as National Inventors Month, celebrating invention and creativity.