Catalog

Search our Catalog

Adults

Suspense, Mystery, Murder

Fans of Denise Mina or Minette Walters should try:

Want healthy eating ideas for the holidays?

Three excellent books that have easy to follow diet plans, list healthy foods that keep your weight low and; metabolism high and give thin-spiration ideas or expert advice to help you keep the weight off during the holidays and through-out the year.

May we suggest titles for those who enjoy Ken Follett

Follett writes on a wide range of subjects, from espionage suspense stories to chronicling the building of a medieval church. There are a assortment of appealing aspects to choose from with Follett's books:

2009 in Books

Rex SorgatzEvery year, hundreds of people and organizations put together lists of picks for the most notable happenings of the year. One man, Rex Sorgatz, has assembled a "meta-list," or list of lists, for the last 8 years. 2009 is no exception.

Aside from Rex's list, you may also be interested in Eat Me Daily's Best Cookbooks of 2009 Roundup. The "Best Horizon-Expander," Vefa's Kitchen, is available here at CPL.

Lastly, the history community lost a great cultural scholar, Ronald T. Takaki. Harry Allen has written a heartfelt obituary that mentions Dr. Takaki's book, A Different Mirror: A History of Multicultural America.

Video Games Have Temporarily Been Moved

Due to the retagging project going on in the library, the video games have temporarily been moved. They are now behind the check-out desk, but that doesn't mean you still can't check them out! Feel free to ask any of the librarians to pull titles for you, or you can continue to put holds on games. If you'd like to see what we have, check out the list of all 1002 video games.

The Power of Your Dreams

Professional speaker Cindy Gray will discuss understanding and interpreting the power of your dreams. Cindy's enthusiastic presentation will inform and inspire you to take home the information and use it to enhance your life. Please join us for a fun and informative evening on Thursday, December 10 at 7:00PM in the library's Community Room. Phone-in registration begins Thursday, December 3 by calling the library at (734) 397-0999. Sweet dreams!

Having Too Much Fun?

December is a month full of many celebrations, and for some of us, final exams.  There seems to be an increase in pressure to get things done before the end of the year, and whether your tasks are enjoyable or not, it's important to remember to take it easy.  So while we have many items in the library that will help you get ready for all the parties and holidays, we also have materials to help you manage stress, relax and exercise to relieve some of the pressure.

Holiday Decorating

'Tis the season for holiday decorating. Get some great ideas from our selection of holiday decorating books.

Faith, Hope, Love, Knitting

Faith, Hope, Love, Knitting: Celebrating the Gift of Knitting with 24 Beautiful Patterns by Lorna Miser
This book of patterns by the founder of Lorna's Laces (drool-worthy fibers available locally at the Old Village Yarn Shoppe) includes patterns for socks, mittens, sweaters, stuffies, and even how to make your own decorative knitting needles. Interspersed with the patterns are brief stories explaining how Miser came up with the pattern and how it connects to her life.

The Prisoner

If you have been watching The Prisoner miniseries on AMC you might want to check out the original British series. The Prisoner aired in the late 1960s and starred Patrick McGoohan who also produced the show. In case you haven't see either version, The Prisoner is about a spy (Number 6) who is held prisoner at a seaside town where everyone is assigned a number and no one asks questions. Number 6 has to figure out who kidnapped him, why they are holding him hostage, and how to escape.

Year 2009 Top Fiction Picks

Benny and Shrimp by Kate Mazetti. Can two lonely middle-aged misfits, a widowed librarian and a bachelor milk farmer, find love in such a complicated relationship? Find out in this refreshingly fun and quirky Swedish bestseller.

Blindman's Bluff by Faye Kellerman

The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barberry

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson

Going Away Shoes: Stories by Jill McCorkle

Half-Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel by Jeanette Walls

Homeland by Barbara Hambly

John Fogerty

John Fogerty's rockabilly style returns with The Blue Ridge Rangers Rides Again. This CD, released in 2009, features accompanying musicians Bruce Springsteen, Don Henley and Timothy B. Schmit. This CD is a follow up to the Blue Ridge Rangers album that was released in 1973 after the breakup of Creedence Clearwater Revival.  Check out this cd and other John Fogerty CDs at the Canton Public Library.

Take a Load Off!


Start the New Year off without excess mental baggage...consider forgiveness! Scientists have proven bitterness and guilt wreaks havoc on our bodies and minds. Dr. Fred Luskin has written Forgive for good the results of the Forgiveness Project, one of the largest and most important studies on forgiveness ever conducted. It shows that learning how to forgive improves our emotional and physical well-being.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - June 23, 2010

The Pearl Diver by Jeff Talarigo is the Canton Seniors Book Group final selection for this year. Copies of the book will be distributed at the May 26, 2010 meeting. After May 26  copies ask for a copy at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - March 24, 2010

Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver is the selected book in March. Copies of the book will be distributed at the February 24, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after February. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

The African Experience: An Audiobook Selection

Here is where the landscape, the country, and the people all play a part in forming life-changing experiences in the real and fictional worlds of Africa!

Falls and Older Adults

If you or an older person you know has fallen, you're not alone. More than one in three people ages 65 years or older falls each year. The risk of falling — and fall-related injuries — rises with age. But falls can be prevented, and three videos describing how older adults can reduce their risk have just been added to the Falls and Older Adults topic on NIHSeniorHealth.

(Image Credit: Leonard Freed. WEST GERMANY. 1965. (NYC30404). Magnum Photos. 01 Jan 1965. eLibrary. Web. 25 Jan 2010.)

Headwrapping success!

We had a fabulous time at the Gele Headwrapping program this past Saturday. We learned three different ways to style our favorite fabrics and we learned about headwrapping from different cultural perspectives. We took some pictures in case you missed it. If you would like to see this program happen again, just let us know. A special thanks to Zarinah El-Amin Naeem for a colorfully fun workshop!

Gentle Romances

Want books with plenty of romance, but no hanky-panky? Try the Regency romances of Georgette Heyer, Shirley Marks or Barbara Metzger. If you like historicals set in America, check out Carolyn Brown or Nancy J. Parra. Hate historicals, but love contemporaries? Take a look at Holly Jacobs or Elisabeth Rose.