Catalog

Search our Catalog

Adults

Christmas Miracles - Book Suggestion of the Week

Christmas Miracles by Cecil Murphey
Celebrate the season of hope and miracles with these inspiring true stories that will warm the heart and touch the soul! From hearing invisible angels sing to miraculous healings, faith in the impossible will swell to bursting with this recent 2009 publication. Cecil Murphey is the co-author of the New York Times bestseller 90 Minutes in Heaven. He has published 108 books and lectures widely.

Human Rights Day

Human Rights Day

When : Always December 10

Human Rights Day, created by the United Nations, promotes awareness of the importance of Human Rights issues around the world. On this day in 1948, the UN General Assembly adopted the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Participate in this day by learning more about human rights issues around the globe. This is a day to think about what we can do to make a difference.  In our own best interest: how defending human rights benefits us all in just one of the books on this subject to be found at the library.


Beautiful Hawaii

Dreaming of a warm climate and place to visit?  You can soak up the sunshine in Maui, Oahu & the big Island in Hawaii.  The Waikiki beach is a great beach to surf or just enjoy the white sand shores.  The fresh, floral air energizes you. The warm, tranquil waters refresh you.

My Favorite Christmas Story

For a long time my favorite Christmas book was The Best Christmas Pageant Ever by Barbara Robinson.  I love the wild and outrageous Herdman family who discovers the Christmas story for the first time.  This is a wickedly humorous, but touching story that has stayed with me since the first time I read it many years ago.  But last year, I read a book that may take that top spot of Christmas favorite.  The Shepherd, the Angel, and Walter the Christmas Miracle Dog by Dave Barry had me laughing until I cried.  On Christmas Eve, the Barnes family experiences the startling loss of the beloved family dog.  But Doug and his father pull off a Christmas miracle - of sorts - just in time for the Christmas pageant. 

Baby Boomers and Technology

A recent study jointly published by Microsoft and AARP, Baby Boomers Are Shaping the Future of Technology, AARP and Microsoft Research Shows discusses the expectations of Baby Boomers and the use of technology.  Research shows Baby Boomers enjoy new technology and are eager to use text-messaging, social-networking, etc.  "Baby boomers want technology that reflects their values and helps them express those values with greater purpose, meaning and impact", Adam Sohn, Director of Integrated Communications for AARP said. “While boomers are heavy users of technology today — for everything from entertainment and news to online banking and social networking — what’s most exciting is the technology-assisted world they are helping to create.”

2009 Nero Award Announced

New York lawyer-turned-novelist Joseph Teller has won the 2009 Nero Award for his novel The Tenth Case (Mira). That announcement came during the annual Black Orchid Weekend, hosted in New York City by the Nero Wolfe fan organization, The Wolfe Pack. The other two crime novels in contention were The Dark Tide, by Andrew Gross (HarperCollins), and The Fault Tree, by Louise Ure (Minotaur Books).

Material Obsession

Material Obsession Material Obsession: Modern Quilts with Traditional Roots by Kathy Doughty and Sarah Fielke
I haven't made a quilt yet myself but have always admired the technique and art of those made by others. As the weather turns colder I find myself ready to tackle a project that will, in the making, drape fabrics over my lap and keep my hands occupied while watching movies and enjoying the company of my family.

Elm Creek Quilts

If you like to listen to an audio book and quilt at the same time then Jennifer Chiaverini's Elm Creek quilt novels is your answer. The series has 14 books and in all the books the story and the art of quilting are neatly stiched. You can learn more about the quilts discussed in those stories by going into Jennifer Chiaverini's web site at http://elmcreek.net. The Winding Ways quilt pattern is easily explained in Nancy Elliott MacDonald's book Winding Ways Quilts A practically Pinless Approach.

Cookies!

Starting your holiday baking? You'll find some excellent books under Christmas cookery. But so many are already checked out! Try Joy of Cooking. It has one of the two recipes I am asked for every year — Angel Slices. The other recipe is for Double Chocolate Walnut Biscotti, which you can find on epicurious. An extra bonus: both recipes are incredibly easy.

Wedding inspirations

Wedding Goddess is an awesome book that shows you ways to calm wedding-day jitters and walk down the aisle like a Goddess. It has creative ideas and inspirational suggestions, that can help every bride transform wedding stress into wedding bliss.

Tired of Christmas Music?

Big Bill Morganfield: born LoverIf you are already tired of Christmas music, try some Blues.

We recently received a new Big Bill Morganfield cd. It has as very traditional blues sound. It includes several slow blues tracks, which were just the thing to slow down the Christmas rush.

Happy National Tie Month!

tiesWelcome to December everyone and for that matter, welcome to National Tie Month! In honor of the gift that we all love to give fathers and grandfathers for most holidays of gift giving significance, let's celebrate the tie with joy and creativity. There is so much you can do with a tie, for example, you could put your picture on it, tie-dye it, paint it, iron on a patch or decal, attach festive jewels, or go crazy with some craft glue and glitter. Whatever you decide to do with your tie, have fun and know that the beloved tie will be even more well loved because you decorated it. Good luck!

Local TV features Mango Languages!

Mango Languages is the easiest way to learn to speak a new language. It's fast. It's fun. It uses real-life situations to make learning more pertinent. It's so good, Ruth Spencer from WDIV featured Mango Languages on the news.
Visit CPL's home page to learn Spanish, French, Italian, Russian, Portuguese (Brazilian), Japanese, German, Greek, Chinese (Mandarin), ESL Spanish, and more. First time users will be asked to create a username and password for the system to keep track of the progress. Remote access is for Canton Library cardholders only.

Frankenmuth

FrankenmuthEvery fall my family enjoys visiting Frankenmuth, Michigan.  Our visit always gets us in the holiday spirit.  We always start with the world famous family style chicken dinner at Zehnder's or the Bavariann Inn.  Then we head over to Bronner's, the world's largest Christmas store.  If you would like to visit Frankenmuth or another Michigan city, start with The Michigan Travel Companion for a list of accommodations.

Suspense, Mystery, Murder

Fans of Denise Mina or Minette Walters should try:

Want healthy eating ideas for the holidays?

Three excellent books that have easy to follow diet plans, list healthy foods that keep your weight low and; metabolism high and give thin-spiration ideas or expert advice to help you keep the weight off during the holidays and through-out the year.

May we suggest titles for those who enjoy Ken Follett

Follett writes on a wide range of subjects, from espionage suspense stories to chronicling the building of a medieval church. There are a assortment of appealing aspects to choose from with Follett's books:

2009 in Books

Rex SorgatzEvery year, hundreds of people and organizations put together lists of picks for the most notable happenings of the year. One man, Rex Sorgatz, has assembled a "meta-list," or list of lists, for the last 8 years. 2009 is no exception.

Aside from Rex's list, you may also be interested in Eat Me Daily's Best Cookbooks of 2009 Roundup. The "Best Horizon-Expander," Vefa's Kitchen, is available here at CPL.

Lastly, the history community lost a great cultural scholar, Ronald T. Takaki. Harry Allen has written a heartfelt obituary that mentions Dr. Takaki's book, A Different Mirror: A History of Multicultural America.

Video Games Have Temporarily Been Moved

Due to the retagging project going on in the library, the video games have temporarily been moved. They are now behind the check-out desk, but that doesn't mean you still can't check them out! Feel free to ask any of the librarians to pull titles for you, or you can continue to put holds on games. If you'd like to see what we have, check out the list of all 1002 video games.

The Power of Your Dreams

Professional speaker Cindy Gray will discuss understanding and interpreting the power of your dreams. Cindy's enthusiastic presentation will inform and inspire you to take home the information and use it to enhance your life. Please join us for a fun and informative evening on Thursday, December 10 at 7:00PM in the library's Community Room. Phone-in registration begins Thursday, December 3 by calling the library at (734) 397-0999. Sweet dreams!