Search our Catalog


Voice Control

At today's Let's talk iPhone event, Apple VP Phil Shiller announced Siri, an advanced voice-activated control system included with the new iPhone 4S. Even though this is an exciting step forward, computers have had speech recognition for years, and movies and television have simulated it for even longer. Here are some examples of fictional computers in movies that could hold a conversation:

2001 [videodisc]: a space odyssey by Metro-Goldwyn- Mayer

Great Michigan Read 2011-2012

Arc of Justice: a Saga of Race, Civil Rights, and Murder in the Jazz Age by Kevin Boyle is this year's Great Michigan Read 2011-2012. To kick off the Great Michigan Read, Mr. Boyle will tour six cities throughout Michigan in late October. At each site, Boyle will host a presentation, question-and-answer session, and book signing. All events are free and open to the public.

Discover Your Inner Guitar Hero

Do you have a little Jimi Hendrix or Eric Clapton hiding in you? The pros from Axis Music Academy will help you discover your hidden talents on Thursday, October 13 at 7:00 PM in the Community Room. Come give it a try — you may be amazed how quickly you can pick it up and start making music.

The Paint Creek Boys Visit!

Do you like Ricky Skaggs or Allison Krauss? Then you'll love the music of Ron and Don Whitaker, aka The Paint Creek Boys. Join us on Thursday, October 6 at 7:00 PM in the Community Room for a free concert of bluegrass, country and gospel music. We'll tap our toes and clap our hands while Ron and Don do the pickin' and grinnin'.

The Edible Front Yard

The edible front yard : the mow-less, grow-more plan for a beautiful, bountiful garden by Ivette Soler ; with photographs by Ann Summa — For most folks, space is at a premium, and so are our hard-earned dollars. To be able to take advantage of the front yard - an area that is usually just boring grass that doesn't get used for much - is a great way to save money and make the most of our property. And an edible front yard garden doesn't have to lack curb appeal! This book has an entire chapter devoted to that topic, as well as information throughout about how to keep your edible front yard aesthetically pleasing. This book has detailed information about all the issues and questions that could come along with an edible front yard.

Vegetarian Month

October is designated "Vegetarian Month" to spotlight and better understand a vegetarian lifestyle. This educational event advances awareness of the many surprising, ethical, environmental, economic, health, humanitarian and other benefits of the increasingly popular vegetarian lifestyle. Who is a vegetarian? Who is a vegan? A vegetarian chooses to eat no animal products, fish or fowl. A vegan does not consume any animal products, fish, fowl, dairy or eggs. To learn more about the pros and cons of being a vegetarian you can go to the website of the Vegetarian Society. You can get great tasting vegan and vegetarian recipes at

Mystery Series Week

The Purple Moon Press has declared October 2-11 Mystery Series Week-2011. Of course, every mystery fan is familiar with the Sherlock Holmes series by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Dame Agatha Christie's Hercules Poiroit, Miss Marple, or Tommy and Tuppence. If you are looking for something new, there are dozen of series such as Ian Rankin's Inspector Rebus, or Janet Evanovich's comic Stephanie Plum. For more reading suggestions, check Canton Public Library's mystery posts and May We Suggest.

[Image Source: Google/Purple Moon Press]

Death of the Book and Other Good News

Daniel Okrent, author, editor and University of Michigan alumnus, will give a public lecture on the impact of digital revolution on bookstores, libraries, publishers, and of course, readers. He thinks that "It's the biggest change in the world of words since Gutenberg, and may turn out to be just as beneficial…"
Date: Thursday, October 6, 4:00-5:30 PM
Location: Harlan Hatcher Graduate Library, Ann Arbor

Resources for the Beginning Genealogist

Many beginning genealogists struggle to get started with their research. It's difficult to know where to begin. The Library of Michigan has a wealth of information for genealogists in all phases of their research. If you're researching here at the Canton Public Library, be sure to use our genealogy databases HeritageQuest Online and Ancestry Library Edition (in library use only). Here are some great books to start your research as well:

The handybook for genealogists: United States of America

How Does This Work?

Hey Kids! Are you curious about your bones and muscles? How does all those things connect in our bodies? What is a healthy snack? Join us for our How Does This Work program. It takes place on Monday, October 17, 2011 from 7:00 to 7:45 PM. Program is open to children ages 5-9 with a caregiver! Registration begins Monday, October 3, 2011.

Get Your Flu Shot Here

Two Canton CVS pharmacies will hold flu vaccination clinics at the Canton Public Library in October: on Saturday, October 15 (9:00 AM-1:00 PM) and Wednesday, October 19 (9:00 AM-3:00 PM). The combined vaccination will cover the H1N1 virus and the current season's flu strain.

Those with insurance coverage will receive their shots without charge (no co-pay) if they fill out and return consent forms in advance. Forms are available at the library's Reception Desk and may be returned there. Please give the form to the Receptionist and indicate the clinic date of your choice.

Cost without insurance will be $29.99, payable by cash or check; you will receive a $5 CVS gift card. Reservations are neither accepted nor necessary. This is not a library sponsored program.

Murder Will Out: Meet William Kent Krueger

Northwest Angle: a novel by William Kent Krueger — Meet William Kent Krueger, author of the Cork O'Connor mystery series on Thursday, October 6 at 7:00 PM at Aunt Agatha's in Ann Arbor. Mr. Krueger will discuss and sign his new Cork O'Connor novel, Northwest Angle.

Go Get 'Em Tigers!

Our Detroit Tigers start their hunt for a World Championship tonight at Yankee Stadium! Those of us over a certain age will certainly remember the excitement of past World Series for the Tigers. The 1984 series was the most recent successful run, but I will always remember the 1968 series as a magical time. Kaline, Cash, Northrup, Stanley, Freehan, McAuliffe, Lolich and McLain were just some of the Tigers on that team that came from behind night after night to pull out a game in the late innings — much like this year! And after every win we would hear their very own fight song Go Get 'em Tigers! If you want to sing along you can find the words below. And to quote the late, great Sparky Anderson from 1984 "Bless You Boys!"

Book Gems: Fiction

If you missed our Book Gems program last night, you can still take a peek at the titles we highlighted:

Not all tarts are apple by Pip Granger — This charming book set in 1953 London focuses on Rosie, the 7-year-old narrator, and the colorful characters in her Soho neighborhood. Try this if you like cozy British mysteries — especially if you care more about the setting and characters than the mystery itself.

Then she found me by Elinor Lipman — Restrained high school Latin teacher April Epner is dismayed when her extroverted birth mother finds her in this wry, unsentimental comedy of manners. A good choice for readers of Anne Tyler or Elizabeth Berg.

A Dazzling Display of Dogs

A dazzling display of dogs : concrete poems by Betsy Franco ; illustrations by Michael Wertz — Do you love dogs? How about poetry? This book combines both of those fun items. With fun colorful illustrations, you can have fun reading her concrete poems aloud or to yourself. Some of the poem titles include Found at the Pound, Pug Appeal, Emmett's Ode to His Tennis Ball, and The Tail End. Happy reading!

The Food Lover's Garden

The food lover's garden by Mark Diacono ; photography by Mark Diacono ; recipe photography by Laura Hynd ; recipe development by Debora Robertson — Did you know that you can eat daylilies and nasturtiums? Do you ever find yourself overwhelmed with produce from the garden but aren't sure how to prepare it? This book has a mix of growing information, tips and info about a variety of types of produce and recipes for how to use it all. Who wants to make some nasturtium risotto?

Conquering Your Pain the Holistic Way

The Doctor is In! Please join us on Thursday, September 29 from 7:00-8:00PM in the Purple Room for a special presentation, Conquering Your Pain the Holistic Way, by Livonia's own "Dr. Phil," Dr. Philip Hoehn, DC, CCSP. Learn how chiropractic care can provide a healthy and natural approach to relieving pain from sports injuries and other ailments.

Selznick Creates Another Masterpiece

You will enter a world of breath-taking beauty and spellbinding mystery when you open Wonderstruck, a world so rich and captivating that you won't want to leave it even when you come to the last page. Two stories revolving around hearing-impaired characters are artfully intertwined. One is set in 1977, is told in text and follows Ben, who suddenly loses his mother and never knew his father. The second, depicted richly in shaded pencil drawings that act like a camera, opens in 1927 as young Rose plans to run away from her stifling father and find her glamorous mother in Manhattan. Ben soon flees his aunt's house in Gunflint Lake, Minn. in a attempt to find his father in New York City.

New Databases Page

Our Databases page has a fresh new look!  We have streamlined our subject categories and added a new "Best Bets" category. Due to changes made by MeL, OCLC FirstSearch and its components are no longer part of our collection. As always if you can't find what you are looking for, do ask a librarian for help.

We the People

The Obama Administration has launched a new website called We the People where ordinary citizens can petition the White House to take up any issue of importance to them. Participants must be 13 years or older and have an account on Once a petition is submitted, the creator must work to gather support. If a petition meets the 5,000 signature threshold in 30 days or less, the issue will be reviewed by the White House.