Catalog

Search our Catalog

Adults

John F. Kennedy on Film

This year marks the 50th anniversary of the death of President John F. Kennedy.  Check out some of the following documentaries for some historical perspective:

The Kennedy inauguration [videodisc]: January 20, 1961 by Films for the Humanities & Sciences ; NBC News ; NBC Universal, Inc

A tour of the White House with Mrs. John F. Kennedy [videodisc]: 1962 televised tour by created and produced by CBS News ; proudly presented by Marshall Fields, the Field Museum

Cuban missile crisis [videodisc]: three men go to war

American Experience: JFK by Kennedy, John F

The Kennedy Half-Century by Kennedy, John F

JFK Remembered: 50 Years Later by Kennedy, John Fitzgerald

The Day Kennedy Died by Spacey, Kevin

New Documentaries on the Shelf

Manhunt— Boston bombers [videodisc] by a NOVA production ; produced and directed by Miles O'Brien

The search for Robert Johnson [videodisc]: the real story of the greatest folk blues guitar player that ever lived by produced and directed by Chris Hunt.

Treasures of New York [videodisc] by WLIW21 in association with WNET

Nureyev [videodisc]: a portrait by producer and director, Patricia Foy

Richard III [videodisc]: martyr or monster? by produced by Coda Publishing ; written and directed by Bob Carruthers

The waiting room [videodisc] by Docurama ; directed by Peter Nicks

Job Search Toolkit

Whether you are looking for a new job or considering changing careers, the library can help!

New Adult Genre

The books in the New Adult Genre are designed to interest twenty-somethings. The main character will often be leaving home for the first time, going to college, or starting on their first steady job. While mostly written by twenty-somethings for twenty-somethings, these books do have crossover appeal for romance readers--even those who have left their twenties behind them.

Finding it by Cora Carmack

If you stay by Cole, Courtney

Rule: a Marked Men novel by Jay Crownover

Foreplay by The Ivy Chronicles Book 1 Sophie Jordan

Beautiful disaster: a novel by Jamie McGuire

One Week Girlfriend: a novel by Monica Murphy

Native American Biographies

In honor of Native American Heritage Month check out some of the biographies of notable First Americans from the Library's collection, or go to this list for more information.

Tecumseh: a life by John Sugden

Sacajawea by [by] Harold P. Howard

Chief Joseph & the flight of the Nez Perce: the untold story of an American tragedy by Kent Nerburn

Crazy Horse: a Lakota life by Kingsley M. Bray

Pocahontas by Grace Steele Woodward

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb

New Books on the Biography Shelf

Daughter of empire: my life as a Mountbatten by Lady Pamela Hicks

Jim Henson: the biography by Brian Jay Jones

Johnny Carson by Henry Bushkin

My story by Elizabeth Smart with Chris Stewart

eReader Users Group Meeting

Join library staff and other eReader users as we share eBook tips and tricks in an informal environment. Group will meet in Group Study Room A on Monday, November 18, 2013 at 7:00 PM.

eBook Basics

Bring your registered eBook reader, current Canton Library card and join us on Friday, November 15, from 10:00-11:30 AM to learn how to check-out free library eBooks and read them on an iPad, Kindle, Nook or other device.

Author Talk: Mark Binelli at Nicola's Book

Detroit City is the Place to Be: The Afterlife of an American City. Author and former Detroiter Mark Binelli will discuss his recent book on Wednesday, November 6 at Nicola's Books at 7:00 PM. Binelli's book is a realistic assessment of Detroit and its' future.

Native American Heritage Month

birdIn 1990, President George H.W. Bush declared the month of November as "National American Indian Heritage Month", which has come to be commonly referred to as Native American Heritage Month. By either name it is a time of "recognition for the significant contributions the first Americans made to the establishment and growth of the U.S." The Library's collection is a great place to look for materials about Native Americans and their place in our country's history.

500 nations: an illustrated history of North American Indians by Alvin M. Josephy, Jr. ; based on a documentary filmscript by Jack Leustig, Roberta Grossman, Lee Miller, and William Morgan with contributions by John M.D. Pohl

The Cambridge history of the native peoples of the Americas

Daily life of Native Americans from post-Columbian through nineteenth-century America by Alice Nash and Christoph Strobel

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group January-June 2014

Looking for a lively book discussion? The Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group meets on the fourth Thursday of the month from 2:00-3:00PM in Group Study Room A at Canton Public Library. 

January 23              Annie's Ghosts: A Journey into a Family's Secret by Steve Luxenberg

February 27           The Closers by Michael Connelly

March 27                Detroit: An American Autopsy by Charlie LeDuff

April 24                   The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian

May 22                     Crank by Ellen Hopkins

June 26                    The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Lou Reed, Velvet Underground Leader, Dies at 71

Lou Reed, leader of avante-garde band The Velvet Underground before going solo in the early Seventies, died this week (October 27) at the age of 71. He had no wish for fame, but is probably one of the best known 'unknown' musicians of the past 30 years. A songwriter, guitarist, and vocalist, Reed had a distinctive voice. As a member of The Velvet Underground, he was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1996. (Photo Credit: Stephen Munday. Olympics Day 13 - Lou Reed Performs At The Medal Plaza. Getty Images. 23 Feb. 2006. eLibrary. Web. 31 Oct. 2013.)

Celebrate Diwali

The Hindu Festival of Lights is celebrated on November 3 in 2013. We are celebrating this annual, joyful holiday on Wednesday, November 13 from 6:30 to 8:30 PM at the Canton Public Library. Please join us for food, dancing and song. The Festival of Lights, also known at Deepavali, is held in honor of Rama-Chandra, the seventh incarnation of the god Vishnu and is a triumph of light over dark, good over evil. Come hear, taste, smell and watch this happy celebration with your neighbors as the Indian community is showcased.

Resources for Children's App Reviews

Are you interested in finding vetted, age appropriate apps for your child to use on your mobile device? There are several great web sites out there that do just that!

CommonSenseMedia : The website that reviews children's movies, games, books and TV shows also does apps. If you are concerned about content like violence or consumerism, you'll like this website which highlights this information in the "What Parents Need to Know" section.

Best Apps for Kids: This website, developed by a mom, lets you look for apps by age, device, category or education. And they highlight free apps on Friday.

Best Kids Apps: Another site where the reviews are written by moms, this site covers the fun and games as well as the educational. You can narrow your results by platform on this site, which significantly sharpens your search at the start. There's also a link at the home page highlighting the currently popular apps.

The iMums: This is a global review site, with review from moms from all over the world. Reviews of apps for Moms and Dads and for those with Special Needs make this one unique.


Child with Apple iPad by Intel Free Press (CC BY-SA 2.0)

Gunfight at the O.K. Corral

It was on October 26, 1881 in Tombstone, Arizona that the infamous gunfight took place. Generally regarded as the most famous gunfight in the history of the American West, it is believed to have lasted all of thirty seconds. On one side were the cowboy outlaws Billy Clairborne, Ike and Billy Clanton, and Tom and Frank McLaury. Opposing them were Marshall Virgil Earp and his brothers Morgan and Wyatt, as well as Doc Holliday. Hollywood versions of the gun battle can be found in the films My Darling Clementine (1946), Gunfight at the O.K. Corral (1957) and Tombstone (1993). Find out what the fight was really all about and who survived by checking out some of the following books and dvds from the Library's collection:

The last gunfight: the real story of the shootout at the O.K. Corral and how it changed the American West by Jeff Guinn

And die in the West: the story of the O.K. Corral gunfight by Paula Mitchell Marks