Catalog

Search our Catalog

Adults

Beginning Excel 2010


Learn to create a spreadsheet and manage a list
with Microsoft Excel 2010.

Registration required. Prerequisite: Mouse and keyboarding skills.

Join us on Friday, August 22 from 10-11:30

Attention: Android hoopla Users

The recent Android updates have rendered hoopla audiobooks incompatible. Midwest Tape is working diligently to get a new version of the Android app to release. If you have encountered audiobooks not working on your Android devices, just know it is being worked on. Please keep your eyes peeled for the new release soon. And we apologize for the inconvenience.

Money Smart Classes

During this 2014 Money Smart Week or any other week, you can enroll in our free online classes to learn more about money. 6-week classes such as "Keys to Successful Money Management", "Personal Finance", and "Where does all my money go?" are scheduled to start on April 16. Many other classes in technology, professional skills, and self-improvement will be starting soon. You can find them in Learn4Life.com from our database listing. Take charge of your financial future by being better informed! Sign up for a class with your CPL card number.

iOS7.1 and hoopla download

Apple has not remedied the issue of downloading hoopla music and audiobooks on iOS 7.1 devices. Hoopla has been able to stream audio contents on these devices, but has temporarily disabled the downloading function. Other iOS devices continue to operate as usual. Stay tuned for updates from hoopla’s development team on this issue.

LearningExpressLibrary has changed!

LearningExpressLibrary (LEL) 3.0 is here. New users should click the "Register" button and sign up for a free account in the new version. If you have unfinished work in the current version of 2.0, you have until the end of June 2014 to finish up. After that, version 2.0 will be discontinued, and the logins do not carry over to the new version. You must create a new account then. Currently all GED tests have already migrated to 3.0, and you will need to create a new account to take the prep. As always, ask a librarian if you have questions. 

Lunch and a Book 2014 Reading List

Lunch and a Book meets the second Thursday of the month from 12:00-1:00PM.  No registration required, participation encouraged.

Quiet: the power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking by Susan Cain — January 9th


Defending Jacob: a novel by William Landay — February 13th





Before you know kindness: a novel by Chris Bohjalian — March 13th

The dog stars by Peter Heller — April 10th


The round house by Louise Erdrich — May 8th

New Updates to Your Mobile eBook Apps!

An updated OverDrive Media Console (OMC) app v2.6.5 for iOS and Android will be released on May 29. The new OMC for iOS will enhance the speed of the in-app browser and fix bugs. Due to Apple’s change in its privacy policies, the OMC for iOS update will de-authorize every user’s Adobe ID and prompt them to authorize again. Audiobook users won’t be affected unless attempting to download parts from a book that was partially downloaded prior to the update. The Android update will fix bugs.

Early MP3 Audiobook Return

The latest version of OverDrive Media Console for Windows computers gives you the option to early-return MP3 audiobooks. The updated desktop application OMC v3.2.2 can be installed on computers running Windows XP (or newer). Don’t forget you can early-return eBooks from Adobe Digital Edition as well.

World War I: the Americans

Although the United States did not enter the war until 1917, the American Expeditionary Force suffered 320,500 casualties. In memory of the 100th anniversary of the war read about some of these brave men and women:

Yanks: the epic story of the American Army in World War I by John S.D. Eisenhower with Joanne Thompson Eisenhower


Five lieutenants: the heartbreaking story of five Harvard men who led America to victory in World War I by James Carl Nelson


The long way home: an American journey from Ellis Island to the Great War by David Laskin


American women in World War I: they also served by Lettie Gavin


Crusader nation: the United States in peace and the Great War by David Traxel

Free Online Classes to Start Soon

The free Gale Courses that the library offers to its cardholders are set to begin on August 20. You can register for any number of classes and in any subject area that appeals to you. The goal is to provide lifelong learning opportunities for you to learn, at your own pace, new skills or improve existing ones. Take advantage of the vast array of instructor-led courses soon.

Three Days of Peace and Music

"By the time we got to Woodstock, we were half a million strong." Those words, written by Joni Mitchell in her famous song about the event, perfectly captured the feelings about the music festival for those who were there. It was forty five years ago on August 15, 1969, that thousands of people gathered in rural Bethel, New York to attend what would become an historic outdoor concert. For those who attended - and even like Mitchell - those who could not, Woodstock became a defining moment. Richie Havens, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Santana, Neil Young, Jefferson Airplane, the Who and Crosby, Stills & Nash were just some of the musicians who performed that weekend.

Adult Contemporary Book Discussion September 15

Please join the Adult Contemporary Book Discussion Group on Monday, September 15 at 7:00 PM in the Community Room to discuss:

The whip by Karen Kondazian. Based on the true story of a woman, Charlotte "Charley" Parkhurst (1812-1879) who lived most of her extraordinary life as a man in the old west. As a young woman in Rhode Island, she fell in love with a runaway slave and had his child. The destruction of her family drove her west to California, dressed as a man, to track the killer of her daughter.

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

World War I: the Campaigns

The battles of World War I were fought in Europe, the  Middle East, and the Pacific. In memory of the war's 100th anniversary, check out some of the library's many resources on this global event whose repercussions are still being felt today:

To conquer hell: the Meuse-Argonne, 1918 by Edward G. Lengel


Verdun: the longest battle of the Great War by Paul Jankowski


Castles of steel: Britain, Germany, and the winning of the Great War at sea by Robert K. Massie


Yanks: the epic story of the American Army in World War I by John S.D. Eisenhower with Joanne Thompson Eisenhower


Setting the desert on fire: T.E. Lawrence and Britain's secret war in Arabia, 1916/1918 by James Barr

Remembering Robin Williams

Beloved actor and comedian Robin Williams passed away on August 11th at the age of 63. The Canton Public Library carries a wide selection of films starring Mr. Williams including Aladdin, Good Morning Vietnam, Mrs. Doubtfire and The World According to Garp.  Feel free to laugh or cry with the work of this American legend. Follow the link for a list of his works in our collection.

Shark Week

Duh Dun, Duh Dun...

It's that time of year again: Shark Week is here! Get in on all of the fintastic action with some of these great books and DVDs all about these mysterious and amazing animals. Whether you are a Shark Week veteran or a first timer these reads will leave you hungry for more.


The blacktip reef shark
by Sara Green

Bluntnose sixgill sharks and other strange sharks by Rachel Lynette

A daredevil's guide to swimming with sharks by Amie Jane Leavitt

Sharks by Kris Hirschmann

Whale shark by Anders Hanson ; consulting editor, Diane Craig, M.A./Reading Specialist

Murder Will Out: Bill Morris at Nicola's Books

Author Talk:  Thursday, August 14 at 7:00PM

Detroit native Bill Morris will be at Nicola's Books in Ann Arbor for a reading and signing of his new novel, 'Motor City Burning'. Detroit comes alive in a powerful and thrilling novel set amidst the chaos of the race riots and the serenity of Tiger Baseball on Opening Day 1968.

Savvy Seniors

Wayne County Regional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped's Brown Bag Book Club will meet Tuesday, August 12, Noon to 2 PM.

This month they are discussing The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty and Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman.

 Coffee will be served. Please bring your own lunch. Meetings are typically held on the second Tuesday of each month at the Library for the Blind, 30555 Michigan Avenue in Westland.

New Features for OverDrive eBooks

OverDrive has just released two new features to help with the ease of reserving popular eBook titles.  

The first, automatic borrowing, allows eBooks and eAudio titles to be automatically checked out when a book becomes available.  While placing a title on hold, click the 'Automatically borrow this title when it becomes available' option.  For more information, be sure to read the OverDrive article.  

The second feature, suspending a hold, ensures the reader that they won't lose their place in the holds queue if they want to temporarily suspend a hold on a title.  This is helpful if the reader is in on a waiting list for a title and is currently reading another. The reader will continue to move up the wait list but the hold will not be filled for an amount of time specified by them.  More information on this can be found in the OverDrive blog.